Screens and interfaces as a device for identification

While writing my review of the game A Normal Lost Phone, I realized that some of today’s games rely on the use of computer and phone screens as the central ludonarrative device. Far from the norm of most AAA modern games that involve huge open-worlds, polished game mechanics and epic soundtracks, these games instead opt for a minimalist approach, where the game’s only interface is a screen, and the player’s only means of interaction are clicking, scrolling and typing. Below is a list of four games that I played more or less recently, and that use this particular element – and why I think this is an interesting mechanic in those games.

A Normal Lost Phone – An intrusion in someone’s private life

“You have just found a phone. Now find out the truth.” The game’s tagline pretty much says it all. If you have read my previous article, you are probably familiar with the concept behind A Normal Lost Phone, a game in which you have to read through a stranger’s text messages and e-mails in order to understand why that phone ended up in your hands. Through this very peculiar form of narration, the player is led towards a message about gender, sex and self-acceptance.

image-a-normal-lost-phone

Why is this form of narration interesting? Because that makes you empathize with the main character’s story. The game’s message is made all the more powerful that it involves an element we are all familiar with – a phone, with its messaging apps, dating apps, etc. The game’s intention would not be as clear if it was told through a more classic and linear form of narration – it is this sense of familiarity that allows the player’s identication to the story.

A Normal Lost Phone is currently available (2.99€) on Apple Store, Google Play and Steam.

Sara is Missing – Phone-thriller

Similar concept, but radically different tone – in this game, you have also found a lost phone, and you also need to find out the truth about what happened to its owner. Except this time, the game clearly warns you that it is a matter of life and death, since Sara has supposedly been captured by someone. And unlike A Normal Lost PhoneSara is Missing uses a very realistic interface, with real photos and videos – which makes the whole story seem very real. The phone’s artificial intelligence – IRIS, a mock-up of Apple’s Siri – quickly identifies you as a stranger. Through a surreal dialogue between IRIS and yourself, you soon realize that you are the only person who is able to save Sara from whoever abducted her. There is a sense of responsibility for the player, as IRIS speaks directly to you, and there is no other intermediary between you and Sara – no fictional hero, no virtual avatar for the player. The real hero in the story is yourself – you have to make decisions and to make your own investigation, in order to rescue Sara.

image-sara-is-missing

What is interesting in Sara is Missing – apart from, once again, this strong process of identification – is its capacity to induce fear on a handheld format. Disturbing videos and threatening messages are at the heart of Sara is Missing, and if you play with headphones as the game recommends you to do, you will probably face one or two jump-scares while investigating Sara’s phone. Since the game’s screen totally replaces your own phone’s interface, you cannot help having the uneasy feeling that this is your own phone – not Sara’s – that is receiving these messages, and the sense of dread is real. Recent horror movies such as Unfriended prove that modern means of communication such as phones, computers and the Internet can be an element of terror (for better or for worse). Sara is Missing isn’t the best game out there – it is too short and maybe a bit too graphic – but it counts as a very disturbing, yet interesting experience. Not many games are able to scare you on a phone screen. The game does have the merit of being able to cause uneasiness and fear. It also raises interesting questions about your own free will and capacity to make choices deliberately, since you will sometimes have to face decisions and choose whether you should trust an artificial intelligence or not. As IRIS kept telling me what to do I remembered a certain quote from the Harry Potter books: “Never trust anything that can think for itself if you can’t see where it keeps its brain”.

Sara is Missing is currently available for free on Apple Store and Google Play.

Her Story – The computer as the narrator to the story

Her Story is an investigation game unlike many others. To sum it up quickly, the game’s main interface is the computer screen of a police station, thanks to which you can access a database containing video extracts from a woman’s interview by the police many years ago. Why is he being interviewed? Is she guilty of anything? The answer to these questions lies in the many, many videos that the database contains. You can only see five of them at the beginning, however. You can progress by typing keywords in the database’s search engine, thus unlocking new videos to uncover, little by little, the truth about Her Story.

image-her-story

In a previous article, I mentioned how the use of a computer database allowed a very particular form of storytelling, that is non-linear and deconstructed, and that may differ vastly from player to player. Similarly to A Normal Lost Phone, there may or may not be an actual ending to the story, since there is no beginning in the first place. You are faced with a database of videos to watch, and you get to decide when you feel satisfied enough about the answers you found. The game never forces you to do anything, it never tells you that you absolutely have to watch all the videos. It never even gives you any goal, for that matter. This is a very fascinating form of narration, since the player gets to control the way the story unfolds. The way you will understand the story will depend totally on your own chain of thoughts.

Her Story is currently available (5.99€) on AppleStore, Google Play and Steam.

Emily is Away – Love Story, 2.0

Remember the sweet and delicous time of messaging apps? (Not so) Long before Facebook Messenger, WhatsApp and Snapchat, there was MSN Messenger (later known as Windows Live Messenger). In Emily is Away, the player is invited to a trip down nostalgia lane, back to the good old days of Windows XP and chat software. The interface is a messaging app, and you can chat with Emily, your friend but also your love interest, with whom you are going to live a love story… Through a computer screen.

image-emily-is-away

Emily is Away plays with all the clichés of being a teenager on MSN back in the day. You get to customize your avatar with album covers of popular 2000s rock bands, such as Green Day, Coldplay, Snow Patrol and other classics. The good old Windows XP background screen is there, and the interface is clearly a replica of MSN Messenger. But Emily is Away isn’t just a game about reminiscing past experiences on MSN Messenger, it is also a tragic tale about the difficulties of love. You are chatting with Emily at different periods of time – through several years of her life. When it is your turn to type your reply, you can choose between several answers (none of which will have a very impactful consequence on the story, however). In the era of dating apps and messengers, Emily is Away tells a very genuine story about human relationships through a computer screen. The game is about the distance that separates people, and how this distance remains in spite of the Internet. The game shows the discrepancy between your direct thoughts and your actual answers, between what you wish you would say and what you actually say. And it tells us that in the end, there cannot always be a good ending to a love story. The game is simple, maybe too much (it is a shame that the game’s ending isn’t more influenced by the player’s dialogue choices) but it is very moving and very authentic. A game for all romantic people out there.

Emily is Away is currently avaiable for free on Steam. A sequel with new characters and stories, Emily is Away Too, will be available in May 2017.

A new genre of video games

The common point binding all these games together is the sense of familiarity it induces for the player. Relying on phone and computer screens allows developers to convey familiar memories and emotions, which helps the process of identification to the game’s characters and story. Even in casual games that don’t rely exclusively on the presence of screens, phones and computers are presented as a way to bring familiarity to the player, or as a parody of the real life. Think about the fake web of Grand Theft Auto V, the smartphone in Watch Dogs, Max’s SMS app in Life is Strange. In approximately a decade, phones have become an everyday object, and computers are familiar interfaces for everyone. It opens the door to interesting narrative devices, and stories that can’t be told otherwise.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

La mise en abyme des écrans comme moyen d’identification

En écrivant ma critique du jeu A Normal Lost Phone, je me suis rendu compte qu’un certain nombre de jeux sortis récemment utilisaient l’écran d’ordinateur ou de téléphone comme principal outil ludo-narratif. Bien loin des canons de la plupart des jeux « triple-A » d’aujourd’hui, qui requièrent d’immenses mondes ouverts, des mécaniques de jeu complexes et des bandes-sons épiques, ces jeux optent au contraire pour une approche minimaliste, avec pour seule interface de jeu un écran, et pour seule interaction possible le fait de cliquer, de faire défiler et de taper au clavier. Voici une liste de quatre jeux, auxquels j’ai joué plus ou moins récemment, qui ont recours à cet élément particulier – ainsi que les raisons pour lesquelles j’estime qu’ils en font un usage intéressant.

A Normal Lost Phone – Une intrusion dans la vie privée d’autrui

« Vous venez de trouver un téléphone. Découvrez la vérité. » Le slogan du jeu résume à peu près tout. Si vous avez lu mon précédent article, vous connaissez sans doute déjà le concept sur lequel repose A Normal Lost Phone, un jeu dans lequel vous devez lire les messages et les e-mails d’un parfait inconnu afin de comprendre comment son téléphone s’est retrouvé entre vos mains. Au travers de cette forme narrative toute particulière, le joueur est mené jusqu’à un message sur le genre, le sexe et l’acceptation de soi.

image-a-normal-lost-phone

Pourquoi est-ce une forme de narration intéressante ? Parce qu’elle permet au joueur d’entrer en empathie avec l’histoire du personnage principal. Le message du jeu est d’autant plus impactant qu’il est dit à travers des éléments qui nous sont tous familiers : un téléphone, des applis de messagerie, des applis de rencontre, etc. Le propos du jeu ne serait pas aussi percutant s’il était inséré au sein d’une narration classique et linéaire – c’est cette familiarité qui permet l’identification du joueur à l’histoire.

A Normal Lost Phone est actuellement disponible (2,99€) sur Apple Store, Google Play et Steam.

Sara is Missing – Thriller téléphonique

Le concept est similaire mais le ton est différent : dans ce jeu, vous venez également de trouver un téléphone, et vous devez là aussi découvrir la vérité sur ce qui est arrivé à son propriétaire. Mais cette fois, le jeu vous met clairement en garde sur le fait qu’il s’agit d’une question de vie ou de mort, dans la mesure où Sara semble avoir été enlevée par quelqu’un. Et contrairement à A Normal Lost PhoneSara is Missing repose sur une interface très réaliste, contenant de vraies photos et de vraies vidéos, ce qui rend l’histoire très réelle et crédible. L’intelligence artificielle du téléphone – IRIS, une pastiche de l’assistant d’Apple, Siri – vous identifie rapidement comme un étranger. Au cours d’un dialogue surréaliste entre IRIS et vous-même, vous comprenez rapidement que vous êtes la seule personne capable de sauver Sara de quiconque la maintient captive. Le joueur se sent immédiatement responsable, parce qu’IRIS s’adresse directement à lui, et parce qu’il n’y a pas d’autre intermédiaire entre lui et Sara – pas de héros fictif, pas d’avatar virtuel à incarner. Le véritable héros de l’histoire, c’est vous, vous qui devez prendre des décisions et mener votre propre enquête afin de sauver Sara.

image-sara-is-missing

Ce que Sara is Missing a d’intéressant, mis à part, là encore, ce fort sentiment d’identification, c’est sa capacité à faire ressentir de la peur sur un format mobile. Vidéos dérangeantes et messages menaçants sont au cœur de Sara is Missing, et si vous jouez avec des écouteurs comme le jeu le recommande, vous risquez de sursauter une fois ou deux au cours de votre investigation du téléphone de Sara. Dans la mesure où l’écran du jeu recouvre toute l’interface de votre propre téléphone, vous ne pouvez refréner l’impression désagréable que c’est votre propre téléphone, et non celui de Sara, qui reçoit tous ces messages – et le sentiment de danger est bien réel. Des films d’horreur récents comme Unfriended ont prouvé que les moyens de communication modernes, comme le téléphone, l’ordinateur et Internet, peuvent faire office d’objets de terreur (pour le meilleur comme pour le pire). Sara is Missing n’est pas le meilleur jeu du monde – trop court et sans doute un peu trop choquant sur le plan visuel – mais il a le mérite de réussir à installer le malaise et la peur. Il pose également des questions intéressantes sur le libre-arbitre et sur notre capacité à faire des choix délibérément : le jeu vous place devant des décisions, et vous devrez déterminer si oui ou non vous souhaitez accorder votre confiance à une intelligence artificielle. Comme IRIS continuait de me dire quoi faire, je ne pouvais m’empêcher de repenser à cette phrase des livres Harry Potter : « Ne te fie jamais à quelque chose capable d’agir et de penser tout seul si tu ne vois pas où se trouve son cerveau ».

Sara is Missing est actuellement disponible gratuitement sur Apple Store et Google Play.

Her Story – L’ordinateur comme narrateur de l’histoire

Her Story est un jeu d’enquête semblable à aucun autre. Pour le résumer rapidement, l’interface principale est l’écran d’ordinateur d’un commissariat, à partir duquel on peut accéder à une banque de donnes contenant des extraits vidéo de l’entretien d’une femme avec la police, il y a quelques années. Pourquoi est-elle interrogée ? Est-elle coupable de quoi que ce soit ? La réponse à ces questions se trouve dans les nombreuses, très nombreuses vidéos contenues dans la base de données. Seulement quatre d’entre elles sont visibles au départ. Pour progresser, il faut entrer des mots-clés dans le moteur de recherche du logiciel, débloquant ainsi de nouvelles vidéos permettant de comprendre, petit à petit, la vérité sur son histoire, « her story ».

image-her-story

Dans un précédent article, j’expliquais comment l’utilisation de cette base de données permettait une forme de narration toute particulière, non-linéaire et déconstruite, pouvant varier radicalement d’un joueur à l’autre. Comme dans A Normal Lost Phone, il peut comme il peut ne pas y avoir de véritable fin à l’histoire : c’est à vous de décider quand vous vous estimez suffisamment satisfait par les réponses que vous avez découvertes. Le jeu ne vous force jamais la main, il ne vous oblige pas à débloquer toutes les vidéos, il ne vous donne même jamais d’objectif. C’est une forme de narration très intéressante, car c’est le joueur qui contrôle la façon dont se déroule l’histoire. La manière dont vous comprendrez le scénario dépend uniquement de votre propre cheminement de pensée.

Her Story est actuellement disponible (5,99€) sur AppleStore, Google Play et Steam.

Emily is Away – Love Story, 2.0

Vous souvenez-vous de la douce et délicieuse époque des logiciels de messagerie ? (Pas si) Longtemps avant Facebook Messenger, WhatsApp et Snapchat, il y avait MSN Messenger (connu plus tard sous le nom de Windows Live Messenger). Dans Emily is Away, le joueur vit un grand moment de nostalgie, et retrouve le bon vieux temps de Windows XP et des chats en ligne. L’interface de jeu est une application de messagerie instantanée, grâce à laquelle vous pouvez chatter avec Emily, une amie pour qui vous en pincez, et avec qui vous allez vivre une histoire d’amour… Via l’écran d’un ordinateur.

image-emily-is-away

Emily is Away s’amuse de tous les clichés de l’adolescence MSN. Vous pouvez customiser votre avatar avec les couvertures d’albums de groupes de rock des années 2000 – Green Day, Coldplay, Snow Patrol et les autres classiques – ce bon vieux Windows XP fait son grand retour, fond d’écran inclus, tandis que l’interface de jeu est très clairement une réplique de MSN Messenger. Mais Emily is Away n’est pas qu’un jeu convoquant les souvenirs d’expériences passées sur MSN Messenger, c’est aussi l’histoire tragique des aléas de l’amour. Vous chattez avec Emily à différentes époques, différentes années de sa vie (et de la vôtre). Lorsque c’est à votre tour de répondre, vous devez choisir entre plusieurs réponses (bien qu’aucune d’entre elles n’ait de véritable impact sur l’histoire). Comme nous vivons l’ère des applis de rencontre et des messageries, Emily is Away raconte une histoire très vraie sur la distance qui sépare les êtres, et sur les relations humaines à travers un écran d’ordinateur. C’est un jeu sur le grand écart entre ce que l’on pense et ce que l’on écrit, entre ce que l’on aimerait dire et ce que l’on dit vraiment. Et c’est un jeu qui nous rappelle, enfin que toute histoire d’amour n’est pas nécessairement vouée au happy-end. Le jeu est simple, peut-être un peu trop (dommage que les choix n’aient pas d’influence sur la fin), mais il est émouvant et très authentique. Un jeu pour tous les romantiques.

Emily is Away est actuellement disponible gratuitement sur Steam. Une suite avec de nouveaux personnages et une nouvelle histoire, Emily is Away Too, sera disponible en mai 2017.

Un nouveau genre de jeu

Le point commun qui unit ces quatre jeux, c’est l’impression de familiarité qu’ils engendrent chez le joueur. Se servir d’écrans de téléphone ou d’ordinateur comme interface de jeu permet aux développeurs d’émouvoir le joueur, de lui évoquer des souvenirs et des sensations qui lui sont familières, ce qui facilite le processus d’identification aux personnages et à l’histoire. Même dans les jeux « classiques », qui ne reposent pas exclusivement sur la présence d’écrans, des téléphones et des ordinateurs apparaissent, pour permettre au joueur de s’identifier ou plus simplement pour parodier la vie réelle. Pensez au faux web de Grand Theft Auto V, au smartphone de Watch Dogs, à l’application SMS de Max dans Life is Strange. En près d’une décennie, le téléphone est devenu un objet de tous les jours, tandis que l’ordinateur s’est depuis longtemps imposé comme une interface connue de tous. Ceci ouvre la voie à de nouvelles possibilités narratives, et à des histoires qui ne pourraient être racontées autrement.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *