Little Nightmares: A story of a tormented childhood

Although I have spent a significant part of my summer playing video games, it had been a while since I had last played a game with an interesting and engaging story. Whether it was a platformer (the Crash Bandicoot: N. Sane Trilogy or the PS4 version of Jak and Daxter) or an action-filled blockbuster (Just Cause 3 and Uncharted: The Lost Legacy), my latest gaming experiences lacked in narration what they delivered in gameplay. My desire for a more meaningful and deep story was satisfied by a game which I didn’t expect to catch my attention in terms of narration – Little Nightmares. This game was released earlier this year, and it was the first original title (a phrase which here means: non-related to a pre-existing franchise) by Tarsier Studios, and an intriguing title at that. The game features no dialogues and its entire story is told without any cutscenes, an yet, it is a disturbing and bizarre tale about childhood, that reconciles two seemingly antithetic genres: platforming and horror. The adventures lasts four hours, which was just about enough to make me feel emotions that other bigger, more ambitious titles released this year had failed to deliver.

Hunger

The game takes place aboard « The Maw », the most sinister and gloomy place on Earth. At first, it looks like a jail, before progressively revealing itself as some sort of nightmarish boat that roams the seas, inhabited by obese human beings whose only occupation is eating voraciously. This boat of sorts combines several artistic influences – industrial-looking kitchens meet Japanese-inspired apartments – and is wrapped in an aura of gloom and mystery. The enigmatic figure that reigns upon this place – The Lady – is a masked woman wearing a kimono. As for you, you are playing as Six, a young girl too skinny and small for her young age to justify it, whose fragile body is covered by a yellow raincoat. The little girl must find her way through this dreadful place, while avoiding to be captured by the gargantuan and voracious population of the boat. The child’s only “friends” are called the Nomes: childlike creatures wearing triangular masks (a tribute to Silent Hill 2’s Pyramid Head?), that she can hold in her arms as if to comfort them.

The Maw’s cooks are obese, disgusting men.

The game’s original title (before it was changed during development) was Hunger. You’ll soon figure out why. Little Nightmares is a constant opposition between the fragility of the protagonist’s body and the dirty opulence of the adults she meets on board. From the cooks that work in the boat’s kitchens to the guests sitting at the tables, all the adults aboard the Maw are exaggeratedly obese and disgusting. They spend their entire time eating everything and anything – sometimes even children. In every chapter, Six must avoid getting eaten, but she also has to find food for herself in order to avoid starvation. In order to do so, she will have to eat whatever the Maw has to provide – which will sometimes mean accepting some unorthodox meals.

Nightmares

I would not say Little Nightmares is scary but it does create a sense of dread and insecurity, by mixing a disturbing setting, frightening sounds, and the constant fear that little Six might get caught by the gigantic enemies she meets, who are way bigger and faster than her. The game is not a horror game per se but it delivers in stress and adrenaline, while also borrowing from other tortured universes: Tim Burton’s cinema, Silent Hill’s industrial horror experience, Limbo’s black and white nightmarish world. All with the poetic transcendence of a game like Unravel – which it curiously resembles in some ways. Just like Unravel, Little Nightmares is a platforming game developed in Sweden, in which a tiny hero explores a world that’s way too big for it. But what Unravel delivers in beauty and love, Little Nightmares delivers in dread and uneasiness.

Just like Silent Hill, Little Nightmares features disturbing visions of everyday places (toilets, kitchens…).

The game’s eventual name, Little Nightmares, has a deep meaning: it is an adventure that plunges us into “little” nightmares – understand nightmares that come from your childhood. It will remind you of what you were most afraid of as a child: the fear of the dark, first, as Six has no weapon but an unreliable lighter, that has the huge inconvenient of making her visible from her enemies. The fear of adults, also, if not the fear of becoming an adult, yourself. The game does feature a far-too-adult world, in which children do not seem to belong – although they are violently confronted to it.

Little

You may understand the game’s story in many different ways, as it purposely remains vague and metaphorical, but there is one theme that clearly stands out: the theme of childhood, and how children look upon adults with fear. Children and adults are constantly opposed within The Maw, more often than not in an unhealthy way. With the only exception of the Lady, a motherly figure – who molests her children, though – whose maleficent presence is constantly reminded through tiny statues that look like her – all the adults in Little Nightmares are the same obese and greedy beings whose only purpose is to try to torture and devour Six. The game’s narrative structure, up until the end of the story, reveal the physical and mental damages that abuse have caused on Six. The hunger that haunts Six as well as the horrors she has to face do not come without a price. With subtilty, the game shows how mistreating a child can trigger a cycle of destruction, and how a painful childhood can transform into a destructive adulthood. Little Nightmares reveals how difficult it can be for children to leave this cycle of violence.

The Lady is as mysterious as she is frightneing. Is she a goddess, a mother or just an anonymous woman?

With this central theme of children being confronted to corrupt and mindless adults, Little Nightmares reminded me of books like Oliver Twist or A Series of Unfortunate Events. The game’s aesthetic is actually quite similar to the movie and television adaptations of the Unfortunate Events, up to the symbolism of the eye, that is constantly connected to the Lady, who is some sort of inhuman version of the Count Olaf. The antithesis between youth and adulthood, as well as the importance of childish fears are also reminiscent of Stephen King’s It, the movie adaptation of which just released in theaters. You’ll also have in mind American McGee’s Alice series and its depiction of dark and twisted worlds coming from the mind of a young girl faced with the craziness of adults. The perfect childhood, to sum it up.

The game developers actually made a crossover promo art between Little Nightmares and the movie It.

Little Nightmares isn’t without flaws: its controls aren’t always optimal, its lifespan is kind of short and its story is sometimes too metaphorical, leaving some plot elements unexplained for lack of dialogues or cutscenes. But these flaws are also strengths: the game’s short duration means it never gets boring, and the absence of a literal narration leaves room for interpretation, which I find most welcome. And with an upcoming DLC on its way (the first chapter is already available) that tells the story from another child’s perspective, the game still has some secrets to reveal. Effectively “little” – the game only lasts a few hours – Little Nightmares does take the time to tell a lot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Little Nightmares : Histoire d’une enfance tourmentée

Bien qu’ayant consacré une part importante de mon été à jouer, cela faisait longtemps que je n’avais pas joué à un jeu ayant une forte puissance narrative. Entre jeux de plateforme (la compilation Crash Bandicoot: N. Sane Trilogy et la réédition sur PS4 de Jak and Daxter) et superproductions misant avant tout sur l’action (Just Cause 3 et Uncharted: The Lost Legacy), mes dernières expériences vidéoludiques privilégiaient l’aspect ludique à la dimension scénaristique – et il me manquait un jeu avec davantage de profondeur. Contre toute attente, c’est un jeu dont je n’attendais pas grand chose en matière de narration qui m’a livré ce que j’attendais. Little Nightmares, sorti en début d’année et première production originale (comprendre : non rattachée à une franchise préexistante) du développeur Tarsier Studios, est un titre atypique et intrigant. Bien qu’il ne comporte aucun dialogue et que l’intégralité de son propos ne soit racontée au travers du jeu en lui-même, il est un conte dérangé et dérangeant, une fable sur le thème de l’enfance qui prend le pari osé de mêler deux genres que tout semble opposer : la plateforme et l’horreur. Quatre petites heures plus tard, à l’issue de l’aventure, le « petit » Little Nightmares m’a apporté davantage de sensations que certains titres pourtant plus ambitieux auxquels j’ai joué cette année.

Hunger

Le jeu prend place à bord de « L’Antre », un lieu glauque et sinistre qui s’apparente d’abord à une prison, avant de se révéler petit à petit comme une sorte d’embarcation cauchemardesque voguant sur l’océan, et emportant à son bord des humains bien en chair n’ayant d’autre occupation que celle de se remplir l’estomac. Au sein de ce microcosme qui conjugue différentes esthétiques – des cuisines à l’aspect industriel se mêlent à des appartements d’inspiration japonaise – tout baigne dans la terreur et le mystère, jusqu’à la « Dame » qui règne en maître sur ces lieux, une femme énigmatique portant un masque et un kimono. Vous êtes Six, une jeune fille trop petite et maigre pour que son âge ne puisse le justifier, dont le corps frêle est recouvert par un imperméable jaune. La petite doit se frayer un chemin à bord de cet enfer des mers tout en évitant d’attirer l’attention de la gargantuesque et vorace population des lieux. Seuls compagnons d’infortune de l’héroïne, les Nomes sont des créatures à l’apparence enfantine portant un masque triangulaire (un hommage esthétique au Pyramid Head de Silent Hill 2 ?) que Six peut prendre dans ses bras comme pour les réconforter.

Les cuisiniers de l’Antre sont deux hommes obèses au physique repoussant.

Le titre original du jeu, avant qu’il ne soit changé au cours du développement, était Hunger (la faim). Et l’on comprend rapidement pourquoi : à la fragilité du corps squelettique et maigre de notre héroïne s’oppose l’opulence crasse des adultes voguant à son bord. Qu’il s’agisse des cuisiniers s’affairant aux fourneaux ou des convives qui se goinfrent à table, tous les habitants de l’Antre sont des hommes au corps exagérément obèse et repoussant, qui passent leur temps à s’empiffrer de tout et de n’importe quoi, si ce n’est des enfants eux-mêmes. Au cours de chaque chapitre, Six doit à la fois éviter de se faire dévorer, mais également trouver de quoi se nourrir elle-même, car son estomac ne cesse de la tarauder. Il faudra pour se sustenter composer avec ce que L’Antre a à offrir, quitte à se résoudre à des repas peu orthodoxes.

Nightmares

S’il ne fait que très sporadiquement peur, Little Nightmares est un jeu d’ambiance qui sait installer un sentiment de malaise et d’insécurité, en conjuguant une mise en scène glauque à souhait, des effets sonores angoissants et une opposition constante entre la frêle Six et les géants humains qui peuvent la saisir à mains nues et la poursuivre en quelques enjambées. Le jeu n’est donc pas un jeu d’horreur, mais il procure une bonne dose de stress et d’adrénaline, et emprunte les codes esthétiques d’univers torturés, devant tant au cinéma de Tim Burton qu’à l’horreur industrielle d’un Silent Hill ou à l’univers en noir et blanc de Limbo. Le tout avec la portée poétique d’un Unravel, dont il est d’ailleurs curieusement proche. Comme lui, Little Nightmares est un jeu de plateforme développé en Suède, dans lequel un héros minuscule explore un monde trop grand pour lui. Mais là où Unravel était un conte plein d’amour et de vie, Little Nightmares en est la version cauchemardesque et dérangeante.

Comme dans les jeux Silent Hill, Little Nightmares met en scène des versions dérangées de décors du quotidien (toilettes, cuisines…).

Le nom final du jeu, Little Nightmares, n’est pas anodin, tant l’aventure nous plonge dans de « petits cauchemars », c’est-à-dire un imaginaire effrayant issu de l’enfance. Le jeu fait appel aux terreurs qui nous frappaient à nos premiers pas : la peur du noir, d’abord, que Six affronte avec pour seule arme un briquet à la flamme vacillante, et qui peut se retourner contre elle car elle la rend visible des ennemis. La peur des adultes, ensuite, si ce n’est la peur de devenir soi-même adulte. Le jeu représente en effet un mode très adulte, trop adulte, dans lequel l’enfant ne semble pas avoir sa place – quand bien même il s’y trouve confronté avec violence.

Little

Si les théories et interprétations sont nombreuses quant à l’histoire du jeu, celle-ci restant volontairement très vague et métaphorique, un thème semble clairement mis en avant : celui de l’enfance qui regarde avec crainte le monde des adultes. Enfance et âge adulte se confrontent en permanence dans L’Antre, avec ce que cela implique de malsain.  A la seule exception de la Dame, une sorte de figure maternelle – mais qui maltraite ses enfants – dont la maléfique présence est constamment rappelée par de petites statuettes à son effigie, les adultes de Little Nightmares sont tous ces êtres obèses avides de nourriture ne cherchant qu’à torturer sinon dévorer Six. La progression narrative du jeu, jusqu’à son dénouement, révèle les dégâts physiques et mentaux de la maltraitance infligée à Six. La faim qui la tiraille et les horreurs à laquelle elle se trouve confrontée ne sont pas sans prix pour la petite fille. En filigrane, le jeu montre comment le mal infligé à un enfant peut engendrer un cycle de la destruction, comment une enfance qui se construit dans la douleur entraîne un risque qu’elle ne soit perpétrée à nouveau. Little Nightmares montre la difficulté pour ces enfants aux destins brisés de sortir du cycle de la violence.

La Dame est une femme aussi énigmatique qu’inquiétante. Divinité, mère ou femme anonyme ?

Par sa représentation, suggérée mais jamais énoncée clairement, d’une enfance confrontée avec brutalité à des adultes corrompus et déraisonnés, Little Nightmares rappellera par exemple l’univers littéraire d’Oliver Twist ou encore celui des Désastreuses aventures des Orphelins Baudelaire. L’esthétique du jeu évoque d’ailleurs quelque peu celle des adaptations des Orphelins Baudelaire au cinéma et à la télévision, jusqu’à la symbolique de l’œil que l’on retrouve associée à la Dame, une version déshumanisée du Comte Olaf. La dialectique de l’enfance et de l’âge adulte, et la prédominance des terreurs infantiles pourront également évoquer le roman Ça, dont la dernière adaptation cinématographique en date vient d’ailleurs de sortir en salles. On pensera également aux jeux Alice d’American McGee, pour leur ambiance sombre et malsaine et leur représentation d’une jeune fille confrontée à la folie des adultes. Bref, de quoi se constituer une enfance réussie.

Les développeurs se sont d’ailleurs amusés à rapprocher Six et son imperméable jaune de l’un des enfants du film « Ça » dans une affiche inspirée par le film.

On pourra reprocher à Little Nightmares sa maniabilité parfois hasardeuse, sa courte durée de vie et son propos parfois trop métaphorique, laissant certains éléments de scénario sans explication faute de dialogues ou de cinématiques. Mais ces défauts sont aussi des forces, car la brièveté de l’aventure permet au rythme de ne jamais retomber, et l’absence d’une narration littérale laisse la place à divers degrés de lecture tout-à-fait bienvenus. Et avec la sortie prévue d’une extension (dont le premier chapitre est déjà disponible) racontant l’histoire du point de vue d’un autre enfant, le jeu n’a pas fini de livrer tous ses secrets. Effectivement « little » – le jeu ne dure que quelques heures – Little Nightmares prend pourtant le temps de raconter beaucoup.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *