How Resident Evil’s Cast Has Become Its Most Defining Element

Over the past year, I have taken a liking in the Resident Evil franchise. Not that I had anything against it before that, but until recently, I had only ever played the original Resident Evil 2 first published in 1998 – it was, actually, one of two games (along with 1999’s Silent Hill) that introduced me to the genre of survival-horror, at a very early age (too early, actually, I still remember my nightmares as a kid). To be fair, Resident Evil is most likely the franchise that introduced everyone to that genre. Borrowing elements from earlier games such as Alone in the Dark, the Resident Evil franchise – or Biohazard as it is known in Japan – has defined (and re-defined over the years) the key elements of survival-horror. 

As an amateur of horror, especially in gaming, this is the reason why I decided a year ago to get to know this series better, by starting playing other episodes of the series. I started with the 2002 “remake” of the original Resident Evil, then played Resident Evil Zero, the Resident Evil 2 remake, and now Resident Evil 4. I then plan to move on to episodes and 6, and then perhaps and 7, as well as spin-offs such as Revelations 1 and (don’t mind the order in which I’m playing these games, I know it’s a mess but I don’t care). To say that the Resident Evil games can be very different from one another is a euphemism. It’s common for a franchise that spans over two decades to reinvent itself from time to time, and Resident Evil is no exception to the rule. Think of how Resident Evil 4 dramatically turned the series from pure horror to a more action-oriented franchise, how the “Chronicles” spinoff series was an on-rails shooter, or think about the 360° shift in perspective that Resident Evil 7 offered with its return to classic horror… with a first-person camera. As I discover and play more and more of these games, I start wondering: what keeps me going? What is it about Resident Evil that I like, no matter how (sometimes radically) different these games are?

There are of course several elements that bind the Resident Evil games and universe together: its eerie ambience, its focus on survival, its story (always based, some way or another, upon bioterrorism and human mutations) some of its most iconic gameplay mechanics (the use of green herbs to heal your character, the “save rooms” and the typewriters…). These are all things that I enjoy and that remain mostly consistent from game to game, but really wondering about what kept me coming back for more, I realized what it actually was: its cast of characters.

This is the story of their apocalypse

More than any other franchise, Resident Evil has consistently featured the exact same cast of characters throughout its 20-year-long-and-counting lifespan. In Resident Evil, first of its name, we are playing as S.T.A.R.S. elite forces Chris Redfield and Jill Valentine, and in its sequel Resident Evil 2, as police academy graduate Leon S. Kennedy and young student Claire Redfield. Claire is Chris’ young sister, and she’s looking for him after his disappearance in the first episode – already, we can see that the developers wanted to connect the cast members altogether. From then on, EVERY main entry in the franchise – and even most of the spinoff titles, have used at least one of these “Original 4” as the central, playable character. Resident Evil 3 features Jill Valentine, Resident Evil 4 stars Leon S. Kennedy, Resident Evil 5 brings back both Chris Redfield (in the main story) and Jill (in a DLC), while Resident Evil 6 centers around both Chris and Leon. Even the very different Resident Evil 7, that noticeably made very little nods to previous games, couldn’t help but reference Chris Redfield in its enigmatic ending, as well as make him the lead character in a free downloadable sub-campaign.

Resident Evil 5 reunited the original duo: Chris Redfield and Jill Valentine, for a DLC.

The series’ overarching plot is that of these four characters, which we follow around the world, across several time periods, as they face very similar (but different) apocalypse-like situations. Spin-off games and prequels also use the opportunity to give us more information about a certain character’s whereabouts as the events of other main games unfold. As if the franchise absolutely wanted you to know where all of its characters are. For instance, the series’ prequel Resident Evil Zero brings back an iconic character from the first game, Rebecca Chambers, and shows the events that led her to Resident Evil 1. Similarly, Code: VERONICA‘s whole plot revolves around Claire Redfield sometime after the events of Resident Evil 3, and Revelations bridges the gap in Chris and Jill’s storyline between Resident Evil 4 and Resident Evil 5, while Revelations 2 follows Claire and first game alumn Barry Burton between the events of episodes 5 and 6.

For someone who supposedly died in episode 2, Ada Wong looks amazing in episode 4.

The franchise also likes bringing back iconic characters from their (apparent) death, such as Ada Wong who apparently dies in Resident Evil 2 but appears to be alive looking VERY good in Resident Evil 4, or the main villain, Albert Wesker, who always finds a way to come back. We also get to see some characters grow up, notably Resident Evil 2‘s Sherry Birkin, a young child that Claire has to protect, who becomes a central character in episode 6

While Resident Evil tells us stories about bioterrorism, what keeps us coming is that we get to see these individual stories through the eyes of beloved and recurring characters. They’re the unifying element to this universe, what binds it all together. The use of recurring characters is of course nothing new in arts. It’s actually the most common element in serialized fiction – from novels to soap operas. The most typical example of a series that relies on an ensemble cast that evolves in a vast universe is Game of Thrones. Similarly, the story of Resident Evil relies on several “point-of-view” characters that evolve through time and space. And while this is common in fiction, in video games, however, I believe it’s much more rare, especially with AAA franchises. Recurring characters are a thing, of course,  but they’re never really the main focus. In video games, either the main character(s) change game after game (Final Fantasy, Assassin’s Creed) or the main character remains the same throughout the course of the series (Tomb Raider, Uncharted). With Resident Evil, though, there’s this consistency of keeping the same ensemble cast in every game. There’s not one hero, but heroes, plural. And it’s not just fan-service: the characters are a crucial element of the games themselves.

Characters as the center

As mentioned above, Resident Evil is probably the one game that has defined the codes of the survival-horror genre. In which the pivotal gameplay element is that you must make sure your character survives. The environment is as hostile as possible, and death lurks in every corner. Your mission: staying alive. And what better way to make you care about your character’s fate than by making you care about the character himself?

A perfect example of how the series makes you care about the characters is the first Resident Evil‘s iconic, oh-so-cheesy FMV intro. You may have erased this dreadful memory from your brain, but the game indeed started with a terrible live-action sequence (and I do mean terrible, even by 1990s standards). But what’s interesting about it, besides the cheesiness of it all, is that it ends with a sequence emphasizing each member of the cast, with a voice-over shouting their names at you in order for you to clearly remember it. They’re not just random avatars, they have a name, and personality traits which you need to remember.

In part due to the low-poly nature of 3D graphics at the time, each character in the game also had an instantly iconic and recognizable design. The characterization and voice acting was also very stereotypical. I’m not sure whether that was 100% intentional or not, but the benefit of it is that it makes you, the player, understand easily who these characters are, what their motivations are, and so on.

The game wants to make sure you remember their names, their faces, and that you start identifying to them, and caring about them. Which is of course crucial, since only by identifying to them will you be able to put yourself in their shoes, and start believing this otherwise far-fetched universe is real. There can be no sense of dread, of danger, of fear, without a sense of caring about the cast. Empathy is a necessary element for immersion in a survival-horror game. The minds behind Resident Evil understood that very well.

Most video games don’t make you care so much about your character dying, since you can restart over and over. In a survival game, however, the lack of ressources and save points make you care about your characters, by design. Resident Evil kind of invented that. Pictured above is the character status screen in Resident Evil 2, featuring Leon’s health bar.

The gameplay itself relies heavily on characters, and caring about characters. And I don’t just mean that in a “heal your character with herbs or he’ll die” kind of way. In the first Resident Evil, the way the story unfolds, as well as some game mechanics, vary whether you play as Chris Redfield or as Jill Valentine. Choosing your character at the start of the game conditions the gameplay itself.

Resident Evil 2 had the peculiarity of having two discs: one for Leon’s nightmare and one for Claire’s.

The game’s sequel went even further. In Resident Evil 2 (and, to a lesser extent, in the 2018 remake of the same name), the relationship between both characters is crucial, thanks to a gameplay element called character zapping. Namely, your actions as Leon S. Kennedy will affect Claire Redfield’s story, and respectively. Pick up a weapon or fight a boss as Leon, and said weapon and boss will be absent from Claire’s gameplay, and so on. The game actually features 4 different scenarios, depending on the order in which you decide to play: Leon A and Claire B (if you start the story as Leon and end it with Claire), Claire A and Leon B (the other way around). 

In the prequel, the gameplay requires you to care about two characters at the same time.

Character zapping was also pivotal in the 2002 franchise prequel, Resident Evil Zero, in which you control two characters at the same time: Rebecca Chambers and Billy Coen. It’s not Scenario A and Scenario B anymore: you play as both characters simultaneously and their fates are intertwined. By the press of a single button, you may switch from one character to another, and you sometimes have to voluntarily split their paths in order to reunite them later. The sense of danger is even greater, as you have to focus on both character’s health bars at the same time. Other games have done that since then, but in 2002, having two simultaneous playable characters was something quite new. Resident Evil 4, finally, only let you play as Ashley Graham for a little portion of the game, but the rest of it relied heavily on having you, as Leon, protect her as she follows you around everywhere and is extremely vulnerable (sometimes even too much, as Ashley can be very annoying because of her stupid IA). 

Resident Evil All-Stars

In every work of fiction, characterization is essential. Interestingly, what is Resident Evil‘s most stereotypical element – its cast of characters – is also one of its driving strenghts, and what has kept it going for more than 20 years. Over the years, the character’s designs and stories have become much more subtle, but they have still remained consistent with what was established in the first two games. Resident Evil as a franchise uses its characters, both story-wise and gameplay-wise, to induce empathy, fear and danger, and ultimately, as the one defining element of the series. So here’s to more adventures alongside Chris Redfield, Leon S. Kennedy, Jill Valentine, Claire Redfield, and all the others!

READ MORE

Leave a Reply

Pourquoi les Personnages de Resident Evil constituent l’essence même de la Saga

Resident Evil, une série de jeux vidéo connue au Japon sous le nom de Biohazard, a défini au fil des ans les codes du genre survival horror. Mais à quoi la franchise doit-elle son immense succès ? Qu’est-ce qui nous y fait revenir à chaque fois ? Est-ce l’ambiance horrifique, l’accent mis sur la survie, le suspense du scénario ? Sans doute. Toutefois, ce qui nous passionne le plus, et ce depuis le tout premier épisode, ce sont les personnages de Resident Evil. Jill Valentine, Chris Redfield, Leon S. Kennedy, Claire Redfield… Comment et pourquoi ces noms sont-ils devenus emblématiques de la saga ? Retour sur plusieurs décennies de ces héros cultes du jeu vidéo.

Les Personnages comme point d’entrée dans l’univers de Resident Evil : pas l’apocalypse, mais leur apocalypse

Plus que n’importe quelle autre franchise de jeux vidéo, Resident Evil a la particularité de toujours se reposer sur le même casting de personnages, et ce depuis plus de deux décennies. Dans le tout premier Resident Evil, on incarne en effet deux membres des troupes d’élite du S.T.A.R.S., Chris Redfield et Jill Valentine ; dans Resident Evil 2, les héros sont un policier fraîchement diplômé, Leon S. Kennedy, et une jeune étudiante du nom de Claire Redfield. Claire est en réalité la petite sœur de Chris, partie à sa recherche suite à sa disparition dans le premier épisode – et déjà, l’on voit une volonté des développeurs de relier les personnages entre eux. Puis, à compter de cet opus, absolument TOUS les jeux principaux de la franchise – et même certains des épisodes dérivés – utilisent au moins l’un de ces quatre protagonistes comme personnage principal jouable. Ainsi, dans Resident Evil 3, on incarne à nouveau Jill Valentine, tandis que le personnage principal de Resident Evil 4 est Leon S. Kennedy. Resident Evil 5 fait revenir à la fois Chris Redfield (dans l’histoire principale) et Jill (dans un DLC) et Resident Evil 6 met en scène aussi bien Chris que Leon. Même Resident Evil 7, qui a la particularité de prendre ses distances avec les précédents opus de la licence, n’a pas pu s’empêcher de faire un clin d’œil à Chris Redfield dans sa cinématique de fin, ainsi qu’en tant que personnage jouable dans une campagne additionnelle.

Capture d'écran de Jill et Chris, deux personnages de Resident Evil 5.
Resident Evil 5 réunit le duo original, Chris Redfield et Jill Valentine, le temps d’un DLC.

En définitive, l’histoire globale de Resident Evil est celle de ces quatre personnages, que l’on suit à travers le monde, et à travers différentes époques, alors qu’ils sont confrontés à différentes situations apocalyptiques. Les préquelles et autres épisodes dérivés sont également l’occasion de nous tenir au courant de la situation de tel ou de tel autre personnage, pendant que les événements d’un autre épisode se déroulent. Comme si la série voulait à tout prix nous donner une vue d’ensemble de chacun de ses personnages. Par exemple, la préquelle Resident Evil Zero fait revenir un personnage iconique du premier jeu, Rebecca Chambers, et met en scène les événements qui l’ont menée à Resident Evil 1. De la même manière, Code: VERONICA raconte l’histoire de Claire Redfield peu de temps après les événements de Resident Evil 3Revelations fait le pont dans l’histoire de Chris et Jill entre Resident Evil 4 et Resident Evil 5, et Revelations 2 raconte l’histoire de Claire et de Barry Burton, personnage du premier jeu, entre les événéments de Resident Evil 5 et de Resident Evil 6.

Capture d'écran d'Ada Wong, personnage de Resident Evil 4.
Pour une femme supposément morte dans le deuxième épisode, Ada Wong se porte très bien dans Resident Evil 4.

La série aime aussi faire revenir à la vie des personnages (apparemment) morts dans d’autres épisodes, comme Ada Wong, qui semble mourir dans Resident Evil 2 mais revient en GRANDE forme dans Resident Evil 4, ou bien l’antagoniste principal de la séire, Albert Wesker, qui semble toujours trouver un moyen de revenir d’entre les morts. On a même l’occasion de voir certains personnages grandir, à l’instar de Sherry Birkin, une jeune fille que Claire doit  protéger dans Resident Evil 2, devenue une adulte et un personnage central dans Resident Evil 6

➡️ À lire également : mon test en vidéo du remake de Resident Evil 3, qui met en scène le personnage on ne peut plus emblématique de Jill Valentine, plus iconique que jamais.

Si les jeux Resident Evil nous racontent différentes histoires, dont le thème central est le bioterrorisme, ce qui relie l’ensemble de ces histoires individuelles, c’est que nous les vivons à travers les yeux de personnages récurrents et familiers. Ce sont eux, l’élément-clé qui sert de lien aux différents épisodes de la série. De fait, l’usage de personnages récurrents comme outil narratif n’a rien d’exceptionnel : c’est même l’élément le plus commun dans toute œuvre de fiction sérielle, qu’il s’agisse de romans-feuilletons ou de séries télévisées, par exemple. L’exemple le plus typique qui me vient en tête, dans l’univers télévisuel, c’est bien sûr Game of Thrones : un ensemble de personnages récurrents, qui évolue dans un univers riche et vaste. De la même manière, l’histoire globale de Resident Evil repose sur différents personnages « points de vue », qui évoluent dans le temps et dans l’espace au fil des épisodes. Et bien que cette technique narrative soit commune dans la fiction, elle est à mon sens un peu plus rare dans l’univers du jeu vidéo, particulièrement dans les jeux à gros budget. Il y a, bien entendu, toujours des personnages récurrents dans les jeux, mais ils sont rarement le cœur du sujet. Il y en général deux cas de figure : soit le personnage principal change à chaque épisode (Final Fantasy, Assassin’s Creed), soit on retrouve le même personnage durant toute la série (Tomb Raider, Uncharted). Resident Evil fait exception en ce que les personnages principaux sont toujours le même ensemble de personnages. Il n’y a pas un héros, mais des héros. Et ce n’est pas qu’une question de « fan-service » : les personnages sont bel et bien un élément central des jeux en eux-mêmes.

L’importance de la Survie : Comment Resident Evil s’assure que l’on veuille protéger ses personnages

Comme évoqué en introduction, Resident Evil est sans doute le jeu qui a défini les codes du genre survival-horror. Un genre dont l’élément de gameplay central, est que le personnage principal doit survivre. Dans un environnement foncièrement hostile où la mort guette à chaque recoin, votre mission, si vous l’acceptez, consiste à garder votre personnage en vie. Et quel meilleur moyen de faire en sorte que le joueur se soucie de la vie de son personnage, que de le faire se soucier du personnage en lui-même ? 

Resident Evil s’assure que l’on se préoccupe de ses personnages : un excellent exemple de cette volonté, c’est la séquence d’introduction (absolument navrante et ringarde) du premier épisode. Bien qu’il soit préférable, pour préserver sa santé mentale, d’effacer ce souvenir de sa mémoire, Resident Evil commençait en effet par une scène en prises de vues réelles, terriblement mal jouée et mal réalisée (sérieusement, même pour les années 90, c’était horrible). Mais tout malaise mis à part, cette cinématique introductive avait cela d’intéressant qu’elle se terminait sur une séquence présentant, un par un, chacun des personnages du jeu. Avec, en prime, une (sublime) voix-off scandant haut et fort le nom de chaque personnage, comme pour être sûr que le joueur s’en souvienne. L’idée, c’est que ce ne sont pas de simples avatars sans identité : ils ont un nom, une personnalité, et le jeu s’assure qu’ils marquent l’esprit du joueur.

De plus – en partie à cause des graphismes de l’époque – le design de chaque personnage est facilement identifiable et reconnaissable. L’écriture et le doublage sont également très stéréotypés. J’ignore dans quelle mesure tout cela était intentionnel, mais la vertu en est que le joueur retient et comprend facilement l’identité et les motivations de chacun d’entre eux.

Resident Evil s’assure que l’on retienne le nom et le visage des différents personnages du jeu, pour que l’on puisse facilement s’identifier à eux, et tenir à eux. Ce qui est évidemment crucial, car il n’y a qu’en s’identifiant à ces personnages que le joueur pourra se mettre à leur place, et trouver une part de crédibilité dans cet univers de science-fiction. On ne peut induire de réel sentiment de menace, de danger, de peur, sans créer un sentiment d’affection envers les personnages. L’empathie est un ingrédient essentiel à l’immersion du joueur, tout particulièrement dans un survival-horror. Et cela, les créateurs de Resident Evil l’ont très bien compris.

Capture d'écran de l'inventaire de Leon, personnage de Resident Evil 2.
La plupart des jeux n’accorde que peu d’importance à la notion de mort du héros : de toute manière, on peut recommencer encore et encore. Dans un jeu de survie, en revanche, tout est fait pour vous faire entrer en empathie avec le personnage : manque de ressources, rareté des points de sauvegarde. On craint la mort de son personnage, le design même du jeu s’en assure, et Resident Evil a en quelque sorte inventé cela. Ci-dessus, l’écran de statut du personnage dans Resident Evil 2, avec la jauge de santé de Leon.

Leon A / Claire B : Les Personnages de Resident Evil au cœur du Gameplay

Le gameplay lui-même repose principalement sur les personnages, et plus exactement sur l’attention que le joueur porte à ces personnages. Ici, je ne parle pas simplement du fait qu’il faille soigner et protéger ses personnages de la mort. Par exemple, dans le premier Resident Evil, la manière dont l’histoire se déroule, de même que certaines mécaniques de jeu, varient en fonction du fait que l’on incarne Chris Redfield ou Jill Valentine. Le simple choix du personnage au début du jeu, conditionne le jeu en lui-même.

Photo des CD de Resident Evil 2, l'un dédié au personnage de Claire et l'autre au personnage de Leon.
Resident Evil 2 a la particularité de proposer deux CD pour ses deux personnages : l’un pour Leon, l’autre pour Claire.

Le deuxième épisode va encore plus loin. Dans Resident Evil 2 (et, dans une moindre mesure, dans le remake du même jeu paru en 2018), la relation entre les deux personnages principaux est essentielle, grâce à une mécanique de jeu appelée character zapping. Plus précisément, les actions du joueur en tant que Leon S. Kennedy ont un impact direct sur l’histoire de Claire Redfield, et vice versa. Récupérez une arme ou battez un boss dans le scénario de Leon ; l’arme et le boss seront alors absents de l’histoire de Claire – et ainsi de suite. Le jeu propose en réalité 4 scénarios différents, en fonction de l’ordre dans lequel on décide de jouer : Leon A et Claire B (si l’on commence l’histoire avec Leon pour la terminer avec Claire), Claire A et Leon B (dans le cas inverse).

Capture d'écran de Rebecca et Billy, personnages de Resident Evil Zero.
Dans la préquelle Resident Evil Zero, on incarne deux personnages simultanément.

Cette mécanique existe également, sous une forme plus évoluée, dans la préquelle de la série, Resident Evil Zero (2002), où l’on incarne deux personnages en même temps : Rebecca Chambers et Billy Coen. Plus de « scénario A » et de « scénario B » : on joue simultanément avec les deux personnages, et leurs destins sont directement liés. En appuyant simplement sur un bouton, on peut passer d’un personnage à l’autre, et il est parfois nécessaire de séparer les deux héros, pour pouvoir les réunir plus tard. Le sentiment de danger est d’autant plus fort, car il faut rester attentif à la jauge de santé de deux personnages à la fois. D’autres jeux ont depuis repris ce genre de mécanique, mais en 2002, le fait de contrôler deux personnages simultanément était une mécanique assez nouvelle. Enfin, dans Resident Evil 4, le personnage principal reste Leon S. Kennedy, puisque l’on n’incarne Ashley Graham que le temps d’une courte séquence. Toutefois, le jeu repose en grande partie sur le fait de devoir protéger Ashley, qui vous suit en permanence et qui est très vulnérable (parfois un peu trop, car l’IA d’Ashley est loin d’être des plus brillantes…).

Un Casting qui dure depuis 1996 : Resident Evil All-Stars

Dans toute œuvre de fiction, les personnages sont un élément essentiel de la narration. Dans Resident Evil, les personnages sont on ne peut plus stéréotypés, et pourtant, ils sont également l’une des plus grandes forces de la série. Ce sont eux qui maintiennent les joueurs en haleine depuis plus de 20 ans. Au fil du temps, le design et l’histoire des personnages sont devenus bien plus subtils, mais ils sont restés cohérents avec ce qui avait été établi dès les deux premiers jeux. La licence dans son ensemble se repose sur ses personnages, tant en matière de narration que de gameplay, pour favoriser le sentiment d’empathie, de peur et de danger. Ces personnages sont, en définitive, l’élément le plus emblématique de la franchise. Alors en avant pour de nouvelles aventures aux côtés de Chris Redfield, Leon S. Kennedy, Jill Valentine, Claire Redfield, et tous les autres !  

➡️ Comme moi, les personnages de Resident Evil vous intriguent et vous font vibrer ? Sur Artcore Gamer, je partage avec vous ma passion pour les jeux vidéo, de mon enfance jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Pour découvrir mes autres articles, suivez-moi sur Twitter, sur Instagram, et pensez à vous abonner en renseignant votre e-mail ci-dessous ! ⬇️

Abonnez-vous à mon blog 💌

Et recevez mes prochains articles dans vos e-mails !

Rejoignez les 22 autres abonnés

Laisser un commentaire