unravel-test-banner

Unravel: A Tribute to Life & Nature

Yesterday, Unravel launched on PC, Xbox One and PS4. This side-scrolling platformer is Swedish studio Coldwood’s first original game – and by original I mean “not ordered by a publisher but initiated by the developers themselves”. Last year, after he had presented the game at E3, I had the opportunity to interview Martin Sahlin, game director for Unravel. He told me everything about his vision of video games: a total work of art that should “do more than just entertain”, that should also “grab and move” the player. With Unravel, a game that stars the adorable Yarny, a little character made of red yarn that unravels as he progresses through the levels, Coldwood wanted to create a game that came from their hearts. When starting the game for the first time, players can read a message from the developers, reminding them of this particular will and thanking them for all the support Coldwood has received ever since the announcement of the game at E3. The publisher of the game, EA, played a huge part in this support, by granting the game an international visibilty. Was the game worth the support? Does it deliver on its promises? This is my review of Unravel

A classic approach to platforming

Unravel is a classic, yet efficient platformer. Yarny progresses through sidescrolling environments, and he has to solve several puzzles, with various degrees of difficulty, in order to find out how to keep progressing. The game’s originality is its yarn-based gameplay: throughout the game, Yarny will have to use his own yarn as ropes, pulleys or lassos. The game’s puzzles rely mainly on physics – they are relatively simple, and will rarely keep the player from progressing for too long. Some of them are a bit more difficult, however – all in all, the game’s difficulty is relatively well-balanced. I will not dwell more on Unravel‘s gameplay, as it really is the traditional platform/puzzle/die-and-retry gameplay. If you do like the genre, you will most likely love Unravel, as the game does master its mechanics; if you don’t, I still believe you might appreciate Unravel, for its other aspects. For the true beauty of the game is not so much its gameplay, but its story, its soul, its core – its very identity and personality, which will grab you and prevent you from dropping the controller.

image-unravel
Technically and artistically, the game is absolutely flawless.

A trip to the Swedish countryside

In many ways, Unravel takes its inspiration from nature and its beauty. The game lets you travel through various natural environments (garden, beach, forest…), through several ambiances (sunny, rainy, snowy…). Thanks to the lifelike graphics of the game, nature is even more pleasant to explore and to admire. Unlike in most platformers, you spend a lot of time in Unravel just staring at the environments for a few moments, without moving at all – only for the sake of enjoying the view. The game’s levels are filled with details, including a lively fauna & flora. Here, you will come across an adorable hedgehog wandering in the grass; there, you will encounter one hostile crab determined to cut the yarn string that unravels behind Yarny. Yarny actually interacts a lot with the environment, and he is always animated in the sweetest way possible, making the game sometimes feel like an animated film. Finally, sounds and music play a huge part in the tribute to nature that is Unravel, by conveying impressions of melancholy and nostalgia. The music’s “Nordic” tones literally transport the player to the Swedish countryside, which served as an inspiration for the developers. The whole game becomes a true journey for the player.

image-yarny
Yarny is just so adorable.

Memories, memories

You will also find traces of man’s presence in the environments. The game emphasizes two aspects of man’s impact on nature: on the one hand, the game has ecological intentions, by showing how negative an impact men can have on this nature that we learn to appreciate as the game progresses, on the other hand, the game associates nature with memories, with the past, with moments of life spent with your family or with your friends. In Martin Sahlin’s mind, Yarny was born during a family trip in the Swedish countryside. It seems logical, then, that the game associates both of these aspects – nature and family memories. In the introduction of the game, an old lady is seen looking at her family portraits, with a nostalgic and tender look on her face. As she climbs the stairs up to the first floor, she drops a ball of red yarn behind her – Yarny comes to life. He then starts exploring the family memories himself, through the pictures that are scattered throughout the house – corresponding to several fabulous adventures. Yarny is the metaphor for this nostalgic return towards one’s past. The string that unravels behind him symbolises the link that binds people who love one another, but also the difficulty to reach the people we love, and to reach the past as well, as there comes a point when there is not enough yarn to keep going further. The game constantly reminds players of their own memories, of their own moments of life: a trip to the beach, a day spent gathering fruits in the woods. Memories we can relate to. Each level corresponds to one particular memory, at the end of which Yarny comes back to his photo album, in which he gathers pictures and photos of the past, along with a few lines of poetry. As you flip through the pages of the album, a bittersweet feeling of nostalgia strikes you. Emotions are not forced upon the player, however. The game as a whole is very personal, and naturally moving. Several times, I wondered whether the memories and photos seen in the game were or not the developers’ own memories and family photos, directly put into the game, for the game really feels personal (while remaining universal as everyone and anyone can relate to these memories).

image-unravel
The photo album is one of the game’s most moving elements.

Conclusion

Unravel is neither revolutionary nor extraordinary – but that is not what I expected from the game. On the contrary, Unravel rests upon a classic, yet well-mastered and flawless gameplay, in order to better deliver its true beauty: emotions, only emotions. Throughout Yarny’s adventures, Unravel reveals fragments of youth, fragments of life, nostalgic memories, as well as a tribute to the Swedish nature that the developers from Coldwood love so much (their studio is based in Umeå, in northern Sweden). Yet, even though it was inspired by Sweden, the game is universally beautiful: everyone can be grabbed and moved by the melancholy of childhood, this time in life when every natural setting invites us to games and adventures. Today, these adventures are Yarny’s. I am still moved by Unravel, and I still haven’t finished my journey, so I will go back to playing the game. Thank you, Coldwood, for delivering such a personal and moving game. I wish you the best for the rest of your journey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

unravel-test-banner

Unravel, une ode à la vie et à la nature

Hier sortait sur PC, Xbox One et PS4 le charmant Unravel, un jeu de plateforme en vue 2D développé par le studio suédois Coldwood, dont c’est le premier jeu original – entendez par là un jeu créé à l’initiative du studio et non d’un éditeur tiers. L’an dernier, suite à son apparition remarquée à l’E3, j’avais eu l’occasion d’interviewer le créateur du jeu, Martin Sahlin, qui m’avait tout expliqué de sa vision du jeu vidéo, un art total dont le but n’est pas que de divertir mais aussi d’émouvoir. Avec Unravel, ce jeu mettant en scène l’adorable Yarny, un petit personnage fait de laine rouge qui se détricote au fil de sa progression, Coldwood voulait créer un jeu qui vienne véritablement du cœur. Au moment de lancer le jeu pour la première fois, un message des développeurs nous rappelle cette volonté, et nous remercie au passage de tout le soutien reçu depuis l’annonce du jeu à l’E3 – un soutien grandement aidé par le partenariat de Coldwood avec EA, éditeur mondial qui a pu assurer au jeu une grande visibilité. Mais alors, ce soutien en valait-il la peine ? Le jeu tient-il ses promesses ? Réponses dans cette critique d’Unravel

Un jeu de plateforme classique

Unravel est un jeu de plateforme tout ce qu’il y a de plus classique, mais toutefois très efficace. Yarny progresse dans un environnement en vue 2D, et doit résoudre plusieurs puzzles de difficulté variable pour trouver comment avancer. L’originalité du jeu, c’est la mécanique de la laine : Yarny devra tantôt se servir de la laine qui le compose comme d’une liane, d’une poulie ou d’un lasso. Les casse-têtes reposent principalement sur la physique. Ils restent relativement abordables et bloqueront rarement le joueur très longtemps, mais certains sont tout de même relativement ardus. La difficulté dans l’ensemble est donc plutôt bien dosée. Si je ne m’attarde pas davantage sur le gameplay d’Unravel, c’est parce qu’il est véritablement classique du genre du jeu de plateforme-réflexion. Si vous aimez le genre, sachez que le jeu en maîtrise très bien les mécaniques ; sinon, Unravel saura peut-être vous satisfaire autrement. Car la véritable beauté du jeu se trouve, davantage que dans sa forme, dans son propos, dans son âme si caractéristique qui vous happera et vous empêchera de lâcher la manette.

image-unravel
Techniquement et artistiquement, le jeu est irréprochable.

Voyage dans la campagne suédoise

À bien des égards, l’on peut dire d’Unravel qu’il s’inspire de la nature et de tout ce qu’elle a de plus beau. Le jeu nous fait passer par toutes sortes d’environnements naturels (le jardin, la plage, la forêt), par toutes sortes d’ambiances (ensoleillée, pluvieuse, neigeuse), et les graphismes quasiment photoréalistes du jeu rendent cette nature d’autant plus agréable à explorer mais surtout à admirer. Fait rare dans un jeu de plateforme, vous passerez beaucoup de temps dans Unravel à vous arrêter quelques instants pour simplement profiter du paysage. Les développeurs ont par ailleurs eu le soin du détail, en faisant fourmiller de vie les environnements du jeu avec une faune et une flore très présentes. Ici, vous verrez un adorable hérisson se promener ; là, vous affronterez les attaques de crabes féroces bien décidés à trancher le fil de laine qui défile derrière Yarny. Les interactions de Yarny avec son environnement sont d’ailleurs nombreuses et toujours animées avec beaucoup de tendresse, nous donnant parfois l’impression de regarder un film d’animation. La partie sonore, enfin, joue beaucoup dans cet hymne à la nature, tant concernant les bruitages que la musique, qui nous invite au voyage et à la mélancolie, et dont les sonorités « nordiques » nous rappellent la couleur locale des décors : la nature suédoise dont s’inspirent les développeurs.

image-yarny
Yarny est tout simplement adorable.

Souvenirs d’enfance

Mais surtout, vous trouverez ça-et-là des marques du passage de l’Homme dans cette nature. Le jeu alterne entre un propos quelque peu écologique, nous invitant à mesurer l’impact négatif que peut avoir l’intervention humaine sur la nature que nous avons appris à admirer au fil du jeu, et d’autre part des vestiges, des souvenirs, des bribes de moments passés en famille, entre amis. Dans l’esprit de Martin Sahlin, Yarny est né au cours d’un voyage en famille dans la campagne suédoise, d’où le lien établi par le jeu entre les environnements naturels et les souvenirs de famille. L’introduction du jeu nous présente une vieille dame, regardant avec tendresse et nostalgie quelques photos de famille. Puis elle monte à l’étage, laissant tomber derrière elle une pelote de laine rouge d’où prend vie Yarny, qui se met alors à son tour à explorer les souvenirs de famille au travers des photographies éparpillées dans la maison – autant de points de départ vers ses fabuleux voyages. La métaphore est claire : Yarny incarne ce retour nostalgique vers le passé, le fil qui se détricote derrière lui symbolise un lien qui unit les êtres chers, mais aussi la difficulté à saisir ces êtres, à saisir le passé, du fait qu’à un moment ou l’autre il n’y a plus assez de laine pour aller plus loin. Le jeu fait tout pour évoquer au joueur ses propres souvenirs d’enfance, pour lui rappeler des moments vécus : une journée à la plage, une cueillette dans les bois. Des souvenirs auxquels chacun peut s’identifier. Chaque niveau correspond à un souvenir, à l’issue duquel Yarny revient à son album photos, dans lequel il colle des instantanés, des morceaux du passé, accompagnés d’un court texte emprunt de poésie. On fait alors défiler ces pages avec une sensation douce-amère de nostalgie. Rien ne semble jamais artificiel ou convenu – au contraire, je me suis plusieurs fois demandé si les développeurs de Coldwood n’avaient pas inséré directement leurs propres souvenirs et photos de famille dans le jeu, tant l’ensemble a une dimension très personnelle (mais néanmoins universelle, tant l’émotion nous saisit).

image-unravel
L’album photo est l’un des éléments les plus émouvants du jeu.

Conclusion

Unravel n’a rien de révolutionnaire, rien d’hors du commun – mais ce n’est pas là ce qu’on lui demandait. Bien au contraire, Unravel se repose sur un gameplay classique – mais bien maîtrisé, aucun défaut technique n’étant à déplorer – pour mieux livrer au joueur ce qui en fait l’attrait : des émotions, tout simplement. Au fil des périples de Yarny, Unravel nous livre des photographies de l’enfance, des fragments de vie, des souvenirs nostalgiques, mais aussi un hommage à la campagne suédoise qui vit au gré des saisons et des climats, et qui est si chère aux développeurs de Coldwood, dont les studios sont situés à Umeå, au nord de la Suède. Mais bien qu’inspirés par la Suède, ces décors ont une portée universelle : l’on ne peut que se laisser happer par un certain dépaysement, comme une mélancolie de cette enfance où chaque espace vert devenait un terrain de jeu et d’aventures. Ces aventures, ce sont aujourd’hui celles de Yarny. Encore très ému par Unravel – mais n’étant pas encore arrivé au bout du voyage – je m’en retourne continuer à jouer, en remerciant Coldwood d’être allé au terme de ce beau projet, et leur souhaitant le meilleur pour la suite de leur aventure.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *