banner-martin-sahlin

Unravel & Games as an Art Form: An Interview With Martin Sahlin

Three weeks ago during Electronic Arts’ E3 briefing, this guy showed up on stage, looking all nervous, to introduce the world to the result of more than two years of development at Coldwood Interactive, Sweden. Coldwood is this small independent studio, fairly unknown to the rest of the world, that has suddenly been thrown into the spotlight and overwhelmed with positive and enthusiastic reactions about Unravel – a 2D-platformer featuring a small protagonist made of yarn, wandering through nature to reunite people who love one another. The trailer for the game, along with Yarny’s absolute cuteness, have rapidly seduced everyone. But more than the game, which I, too, am eager to play, I was particularly interested in the guy behind the game – Martin Sahlin. He’s the guy who turned up on stage with a shaky voice and took a yarn doll out of his pocket, much like a ventriloquist playing with his puppet, or a child with his toy. He’s the guy who refered to videogames as an art form in his speech, and stated that he had poured his very heart into his creation. The way he described Unravel made me realise how close Martin Sahlin & Coldwood’s vision of videogames was to mine – the idea that videogames are an art form with a significant emotional and cultural value. Then I got in touch with Coldwood Interactive. For my blog, Martin Sahlin agreed to answer a few questions. Together, we discussed his career, his vision of games and art, his inspirations when creating Unravel, and so on. Here’s the portrait of a man who has a lot to provide to the videogame industry.

image-martin-sahlin-yarny

Artcore Gamer: Hi, Martin, thanks a lot for agreeing to answer my questions. 🙂 First things first: how are you? And how is Yarny, after such an exhausting trip to L.A.?
Martin: I’m fine. E3 was a pretty intense experience, and quite emotional. I couldn’t have imagined the kind of response we got, it was really overwhelming. I’m pretty stunned actually, and very very happy. I’d been looking forward to that moment for so long, the big reveal, and it just felt totally awesome to see people loving it. Yarny almost got lost on the way back when my luggage got misplaced, that was a bit scary. I guess Yarny’s wanderlust wasn’t entirely satisfied yet 🙂 But it all got sorted out pretty quickly, thankfully.

AG: I would like you to tell me a little bit about you, your studies, your career. What studies did you do? How and when did you decide to become a video game developer?
Martin: I sort of stumbled into game development actually, I always played a lot of games, and I’ve done digital art ever since my early childhood, but for some reason I never really thought about becoming a game developer. I knew I wanted to do something artistic, something creative. I worked as a tattoo artist and an illustrator for a while. Then I heard about a new computer graphics course at Luleå University of Technology, so applied to that and got in. That’s where I ran into the guys from Coldwood, who were lecturing there, and that’s how it all began.

image-martin-sahlin
Speaking of tatoos, Martin’s did not go unnoticed during EA’s E3 conference!

AG: What about Coldwood, now? How was it created, what project did you guys work on? Who are the people working with you?
Martin: Coldwood was founded in 2003, by some veterans from Daydream, Umeå’s first big game developer. I joined two years later. We started out making smaller budget titles, mostly sports games. We were kind of pragmatic about game development back then, it didn’t matter so much what types of games we were making, because we had so much fun working together. We’re based in Umeå, which is kind of a remote place, far up north and far away from everything, but full of really creative people. We’re all from around here(ish), so I guess we’ve got a lot of interests in common – nature, music, things like that. A lot of us are old C64 and Amiga fans, so that’s another thing we share.

AG: How would you define Coldwood’s “philosophy”?
Martin: I guess being friendly is our main philosophy. We’re not just a company, we’re a group of friends, and it’s always been like that. We share this passion for making games, and we have lots of fun doing it.

image-coldwood

AG: During the #EAE3 press conference, you delivered an impressive, moving and inspiring speech about videogames and about Unravel. As an introduction to this speech, you defined videogames as a “powerful art form”. Why do you think videogames are an art? 
Martin: Video games are a form of cultural expression, they are beautiful things created by supremely talented people, they can be thought provoking, engaging, emotional, and creating them takes skill and passion, training and dedication. So yes, games are art, and making them is definitely an art form.

I think that games are really powerful things. They have the ability to grab you and move you in a way that few other art forms can. And that gives us, as game makers, a certain responsibility, I think. We should try to do more than to just entertain. And Unravel was created in that spirit. It was born out of the need to make something more personal. Something with a heart. (Martin Sahlin during EA’s E3 conference)

AG: What makes videogames a very specific form of art, what distinguishes it from other art forms?
Martin: I guess one cool aspect of game making is that it’s a truly cross discipline art form. Artists and coders and designers and musicians and everyone else involved come together and pour their hearts and souls into creating something really great. And the end result isn’t static, it’s not purely for passive consumption, it’s something for players to actively get involved in.

AG: How do you define “art”?
Martin: Defining art is kind of a big question 🙂 But I guess it’s about expression. About trying to take something from your own heart and soul, and sharing that with others, trying to create an emotional response.

AG: If videogames are an art form, then there are several visions of it, several artistic movements. What is your definition of a videogame?
Martin: Hmm. An interactive experience? Pushing pixels around? A collection of systems and mechanics designed to engage and entertain you, and inspire some form of emotional response? Escapism? I don’t know the answer to this really, because video games can be so many things.

AG: What videogames inspire you? Not just for Unravel, but in general – what games moved you, touched you to your very soul, what games would you define as works of art?
Martin: I suppose Journey is one of my absolute favourites. Shadow of the Colossus is another one. I’ve been playing video games for over thirty years, so listing everything that has inspired me would be difficult. But I guess those two games are the ones that I’ve connected most with. But I think most games are works of art, in a way. It’s just not necessarily the most interesting or challenging art all the time.

image-sottc-journey
In both Shadow of the Colossus and Journey, much like in Unravel, nature plays a huge part in the game’s graphics.

AG: Apart from videogames, are there other works of art that inspire you or move you?
Martin: Of course, countless things, too many to list. I can find inspiration in everything – a painting, a phrase, a beautiful view, a photograph, a person, a song, anything. All it takes is one little spark to set everything off, and that spark really can come from anywhere.

AG: Tell me how you came up with the idea for Yarny, and how you made him come to life.
Martin: I had an idea for a game about yarn. The yarn would be a symbol for love, and the bond between people. You would play a little character made of yarn, who’s trying to reconnect people. You would be tethered to the start of the game, and the farther away from home your journey took you, the more you would unravel. I had pretty much figured out that part, what I wanted it all to be about, what it all meant. But I didn’t really know much more beyond that core idea yet. And that’s when I got the idea to make an actual character to play it all out, so I could experiment with it and explain it. That’s how Yarny was created. I did this while I was out camping with my family, way out in the woods. I didn’t have a lot of tools to work with, so Yarny was built from metal wire that I peeled off a rusty old anchor cable, and yarn that I was able to borrow from some kid who was camping nearby. Then I took my little yarn doll and ran around in the woods, playing with it, creating the basic game design and features just like that, by experimenting, having fun. In hindsight, I guess I couldn’t really have asked for a more creative and inspiring environment.

image-martin-sahlin-yarny

AG: Why did you choose to make Unravel a 2D-platformer?
Martin: That’s what it felt like 🙂 I mean, a lot of the game design happened while playing with Yarny in the woods. The types of obstacles I found, and the different ways to interact with yarn I came up with, they all seemed to suggest that the game should be a 2D platformer. Also, that type of game fits really well with the story I wanted to tell.

AG: In terms of story, is there an actual scenario for Unravel, or is it the player who imagines his own story? 
Martin: There is a story there for you to find, if you go looking for it. I don’t think you can push story onto players, at least not when you’re dealing with the themes that we do. It’s far better to make it subtle, and allow players to come to the story, rather than the other way around. We’ve stayed away from heavy handed storytelling. There’s no dialogue or things like that, we tell the story through things you do and see instead. We set a tone, but leave it up to you to play the actual music, so to speak. We do a lot of our storytelling through Yarny as well, through reactions and body language, and things like that.

AG: As far as narration is concerned, do you think videogames can tell stories that can’t be told through other art forms?
The combination of immersion and agency you get in video games is really a brilliant thing for storytelling. Video games allow you to experience what it’s like to truly be someone, rather than just watching them, and you get to control what happens, sometimes you even get to shape the outcome. That really does enable some great storytelling, and I think we as an industry have only begun to scratch the surface of what the medium is capable of in terms of story.

AG: Am I right to say that nature was an inspiration for the creation of Unravel?
Martin: Absolutely, it was a big inspiration. To begin with, there’s of course the obvious connection with nature that I got from playing with Yarny in the woods, that shaped the whole design for sure. But there’s also this whole idea about making the game truly personal, that it should be from the heart, it should be based on things that we know and love and care about. And nature is a big part of our lives around here. We wanted to share that.

AG: Visually, the game seems really cute. What about sounds? Do you think music and sounds play a part in the beauty of a videogame – and in Unravel, more specifically?

Martin: Music is part of the beauty for sure, but also a really big part of the storytelling. Unravel tells its story entirely without words, which makes music incredibly important. It’s a great way to establish atmosphere, create tension, convey emotions. I think Unravel’s story is a lot like music actually – it’s full of details, full of emotion, but it’s not just pre-recorded “facts” that you’re supposed to passively consume. You’re actively engaged in interpreting something, you’re inspired to think.

AG: I’ve mentioned the word “beauty”: do you think a game has to be beautiful? What is “beautiful” for you?
Martin: I think games kind of do have to be beautiful, but beauty can be many things, it’s definitely not just a visual thing. There can be beauty in a design, beauty in a control scheme, or in a game mechanic, and so on. I guess beauty is achieved when things do precisely what they should be doing, no more and no less.

AG: If games are an art form, do you think you’ve accomplished a work of art with Unravel?
Martin: I would definitely say so, yes.

AG: Do you already have other projects at Coldwood?
Martin: There’s always a ton of ideas, but right now we’re all fully focused on Unravel.

AG: Well, thanks, I think that’s all for me. Is there anything you would like to add?
Martin: Thanks for all the attention, I suppose 🙂 It’s been great to finally get to talk about the game, and even better to see that people really seem to “get” it.

Unravel is coming soon to PC, Xbox One and PlayStation 4. To learn more, visit the game’s official website: www.unravelgame.com. You can also follow Martin (@monkeybeach), Coldwood Interactive (@ColdwoodGame) and Unravel (@unravel_game) on Twitter! Thanks a lot to Coldwood and Martin for their kindness! 

Read more
Martin Sahlin’s vision of videogames:
About Unravel:
Other views upon videogames as an art form:

One thought on “Unravel & Games as an Art Form: An Interview With Martin Sahlin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

banner-martin-sahlin

Unravel & le jeu vidéo comme art, entretien avec Martin Sahlin

Il y a trois semaines, pendant la conférence Electronic Arts à l’E3 de Los Angeles, un homme est arrivé sur scène, tout penaud, pour présenter au monde le fruit de plus de deux ans de travail à Coldwood Interactive, en Suède. Un studio indépendant, quasi-inconnu du monde entier, qui est soudain sorti de l’ombre et s’est même retrouvé sous le feu des projecteurs, submergé par une vague de réactions positives et enthousiastes à l’annonce d’Unravel, ce jeu de plateforme en vue 2D, dont le héros est un petit personnage fait de laine, parcourant la nature pour réunir les êtres qui s’aiment. La bande-annonce du jeu et le capital « mignonneté » de Yarny ont immédiatement séduit à peu près tout le monde. Mais au-delà du jeu, que moi aussi j’attends impatiemment de découvrir, c’est l’homme qui en est à l’origine qui m’a intéressé : Martin Sahlin. Cet homme arrivé tout tremblant sur la scène d’EA pour finalement sortir une poupée de laine de sa poche tel un ventriloque avec sa marionnette, ou un jeune enfant avec son jouet. Cet homme qui, dans son discours, a défini le jeu vidéo comme une forme d’art, et a déclaré avoir mis tout son coeur à l’ouvrage. A la façon dont il décrivait Unravel, j’ai compris que Martin Sahlin et l’équipe de Coldwood Interactive avaient une vision du jeu vidéo proche de la mienne : l’idée que le jeu est un art, avec une puissance émotionnelle et culturelle indéniable. J’ai donc pris contact avec Coldwood Interactive, et pour mon blog, Martin Sahlin a accepté de répondre à quelques questions. Nous revenons sur son parcours, sa vision du jeu vidéo et de l’art, et les sources d’inspiration dans la création d’Unravel. Portrait d’un homme qui, je le pense d’autant plus après avoir échangé avec lui, a beaucoup à apporter au monde du jeu vidéo.

image-martin-sahlin-yarny

Propos recueillis en anglais.

Artcore Gamer : Bonjour, Martin, et merci beaucoup d’avoir accepté de répondre à mes questions. 🙂 Commençons par le commencement : comment allez-vous ? Et comment va Yarny, après un si long voyage à Los Angeles ?
Martin : Je vais bien. L’E3 a été une expérience très intense, et riche en émotions. Jamais je n’aurais pu imaginer une telle réaction face à notre projet, ça nous est tombé dessus d’un coup. Je suis un peu sous le choc, à vrai dire, mais très très heureux. J’ai attendu ce moment avec impatience pendant si longtemps – la grande annonce – et c’est tout simplement génial de voir que les gens aiment notre jeu. Quant à Yarny, il nous a fait une petite frayeur sur le trajet du retour en manquant de se perdre avec mes bagages. Il faut croire que sa soif d’aventure n’était pas encore complètement assouvie. 🙂 Mais heureusement, tout s’est arrangé rapidement.

AG : J’aimerais en savoir plus sur vous, vos études, votre carrière. Quelles études avez-vous suivies ? Comment, et quand avez-vous décidé de devenir concepteur de jeux vidéo ?
Martin : Je suis arrivé dans le milieu du jeu vidéo un peu par hasard, en fait : j’ai toujours beaucoup joué, et je fais de l’art numérique depuis ma tendre enfance, mais pour une raison qui m’échappe, je n’ai jamais vraiment eu l’idée de devenir concepteur de jeux. Je savais que je voulais faire quelque chose d’artistique et de créatif. J’ai été tatoueur pendant un moment, puis dessinateur. Puis j’ai entendu parler d’un cours de graphisme informatique à l’Université de Technologie de Luleå, et je m’y suis inscrit. J’y ai rencontré mes actuels collègues de Coldwood, qui faisaient leurs études là-bas, et c’est là que tout à commencé.

image-martin-sahlin
Et en parlant de tatouages, celui de Martin n’est pas passé inaperçu à l’E3 !

AG : Justement, à propos de Coldwood : comment le studio est-il né, sur quels projets avez-vous travaillé ? Qui sont les personnes qui travaillent à Coldwood ?
Martin : Coldwood a été fondé en 2003, par des anciens de Daydream, le premier gros studio de développement d’Umeå. Je suis arrivé deux ans après. Au début on faisait surtout des titres à petit budget, des jeux de sport principalement. On était assez pragmatiques quant aux jeux que l’on développait à l’époque : ce qui comptait, ce n’était pas tellement le genre de jeux que l’on créait, mais le plaisir qu’on prenait à travailler ensemble. Umeå, où nous sommes installés, est un endroit assez isolé, loin au nord, loin de tout, en fait, mais qui fourmille de personnes créatives. Nous sommes tous originaires d’ici ou des environs, et ça nous fait pas mal d’intérêts communs : la nature, la musique, des choses de ce genre. Nous sommes pour la plupart d’anciens fans du C64 et des machines Amiga, ce qui nous fait un autre point commun.

AG : Comment définiriez-vous la « philosophie » de Coldwood ?
Martin : Je dirais l’amitié. Nous ne sommes pas qu’une compagnie, nous sommes un groupe d’amis, et ça a toujours été le cas. On partage cette même passion de créer des jeux, et on s’amuse énormément à travailler tous ensemble.

image-coldwood

AG : Pendant la conférence EA à l’E3, vous avez tenu un discours impressionnant, émouvant et inspirant sur les jeux vidéo et sur Unravel. En guise d’introduction, vous y avez défini le jeu vidéo comme « une puissante forme d’art ». En quoi estimez-vous que le jeu vidéo est un art ? 
Martin : Les jeux vidéo sont une forme d’expression culturelle, de belles oeuvres créées par des personnes extrêmement talentueuses, dans le but de provoquer, de charmer, ou encore d’émouvoir. Créer un jeu demande du talent et de la passion, de l’entraînement et du dévouement. Donc oui, le jeu est un art, et créer des jeux vidéo est clairement une forme d’art.

Selon moi, les jeux vidéo ont une vraie puissance. Ils vous attrapent et vous émeuvent, d’une manière que peu d’autres formes d’art parviennent à maîtriser. Et je pense que cela nous donne à nous, développeurs, une certaine responsabilité. Nous devons essayer de produire plus que du divertissement. Unravel a été créé dans cet esprit. Il est né de la volonté de faire quelque chose de plus personnel. Quelque chose qui ait un coeur. (Martin Sahlin lors de la conférence #EAE3)

AG : Qu’est-ce qui fait la spécificité de l’art vidéoludique ? Qu’est-ce qui le distingue des autres formes d’art ?
Martin : Selon moi, ce qui rend l’art de créer des jeux vidéo assez cool, c’est sa dimension interdisciplinaire. Les artistes, les codeurs, les designers, les musiciens et bien d’autres encore se réunissent et mettent tout leur coeur pour créer quelque chose de génial. Et le résultat final n’est ni statique ni destiné à une consommation passive, au contraire il invite le joueur à participer de façon active.

AG : Comment définiriez-vous l’art ?
Martin : Définir l’art est une grande question. 🙂 Mais je pense que c’est avant tout une forme d’expression. Prélever une part de son coeur, de son âme, et la partager avec autrui, essayer d’entraîner une réaction émotionnelle.

AG : Si le jeu vidéo est un art, alors il y en a plusieurs visions, plusieurs courants artistiques. Quelle est votre définition du jeu vidéo ?
Martin : Euuh… Une expérience interactive ? Un assemblage de pixels ? Un ensemble de systèmes et de mécaniques de jeu destinées à émouvoir et divertir le joueur, à provoquer chez lui une sorte de réaction émotionnelle ? Un moyen de s’évader ? Je n’ai pas la réponse à cette question, pour être honnête, car le jeu vidéo peut prendre énormément de formes.

AG : Quels jeux vidéo vous inspirent ? Pas seulement pour Unravel, mais de façon générale : quels jeux vous ont ému, touché au plus profond de votre âme, quels jeux qualifieriez vous d’oeuvres d’art ?
Martin : Je dirais que Journey fait partie de mes grands favoris. Shadow of the Colossus aussi. Je joue aux jeux vidéo depuis plus de trente ans, ça serait donc difficile de recenser tous les jeux qui m’ont inspiré. Mais je pense que ces deux jeux sont ceux qui m’ont le plus touché. Mais tous les jeux sont des oeuvres d’art, d’une façon ou d’une autre, simplement, d’un art qui n’est pas toujours aussi intéressant ou exigeant d’un jeu à l’autre.

image-sottc-journey
Dans Shadow of the Colossus et Journey, comme dans Unravel, la nature occupe une place prépondérante dans l’esthétique du jeu.

AG : Hormis les jeux vidéo, y a-t-il d’autres oeuvres d’art qui vous inspirent et vous émeuvent ?
Martin : Bien sûr, énormément, et même trop pour toutes les nommer. Je peux trouver l’inspiration dans tout : une peinture, une parole, un beau panorama, une photographie, une personne, une chanson, n’importe quoi. Tout ce dont j’ai besoin, c’est d’une petite étincelle pour déclencher tout le reste, et cette étincelle peut venir de n’importe où.

AG : Comment avez-vous eu l’idée de Yarny, et comment lui avez-vous donné vie ?
Martin : J’ai eu l’idée d’un jeu ayant comme point de départ la laine, qui symboliserait l’amour et le lien unissant les personnes. Le joueur incarnerait ce petit personnage fait de laine qui essaie de reconnecter les gens. Il serait attaché à quelque chose dès le début du jeu, et plus son périple le mènerait loin de sa maison, plus il se découdrait. J’avais établi assez clairement cette partie-là, l’idée générale du jeu, sa signification. Mais je n’avais pas encore élaboré grand chose autour de cette idée maîtresse. Puis j’ai eu l’idée de fabriquer un personnage réel pour mettre tout ça en scène, expérimenter avec lui et expliquer mon idée aux autres. C’est là que j’ai créé Yarny. Je l’ai fabriqué alors que je campais dans un bois, en famille. Je n’avais pas grand chose à disposition, et j’ai donc créé Yarny à partir de fils de fer arrachés sur une vieille ancre rouillée, et de laine empruntée à un gamin qui campait par là. Puis j’ai emmené ma petite poupée de laine dans les bois, j’ai joué avec, et créé le game design, les mécaniques de jeu, simplement comme ça, en expérimentant, en m’amusant. Avec le recul, je me dis que je n’aurais pas pu trouver d’environnement plus créatif ou plus inspirant.

image-martin-sahlin-yarny

AG : Pourquoi avoir choisi d’en faire un jeu de plateforme en 2D ?
Martin : Ça semblait naturel 🙂 Ce que je veux dire par là, c’est qu’une grande partie du game design s’est élaborée pendant que je jouais dans les bois avec Yarny. Le genre d’obstacles que je rencontrais, les différentes façons d’interagir avec le décor qui me venaient à l’esprit, semblaient toutes conduire vers un jeu de plateforme en 2D. Qui plus est, c’est un genre qui collait bien à l’histoire que je souhaitais raconter.

AG : Puisqu’on parle d’histoire, y a-t-il un scénario bien établi dans Unravel, ou est-ce au joueur d’imaginer sa propre histoire ?
Martin : Il y a une histoire à trouver, si vous allez la chercher. Je ne pense pas qu’il faille imposer une histoire au joueur, du moins pas lorsqu’on aborde ce genre de thèmes. Il me semble bien préférable de rendre la chose plus subtile, de permettre au joueur d’entrer de lui-même dans l’histoire, plutôt que de la lui imposer. Nous avons préféré éviter une forme de storytelling trop cadrée. Il n’y a pas de dialogues ou ce genre de choses, l’histoire se raconte par ce que le joueur fait ou voit. Nous donnons le ton de la musique, mais c’est à vous de jouer le morceau, pour ainsi dire. Une grande partie de la narration passe aussi par Yarny, ses réactions, son langage corporel, etc.

AG : Sur le plan de la narration, pensez-vous que les jeux vidéo peuvent raconter des histoires qui ne peuvent l’être dans d’autres formes d’art ?
Martin : Le jeu vidéo est un mélange d’immersion et de liberté, qui offre de nombreuses possibilités de narration. Les jeux vidéo ne vous font pas seulement regarder quelqu’un, on devient ce quelqu’un, on a le contrôle sur ce qui se passe, parfois même sur le dénouement de l’histoire. Ce qui permet vraiment un storytelling de qualité, et je pense que l’industrie vidéoludique n’a encore exploré que la surface de ce dont le jeu vidéo est capable en termes de narration.

AG : Ai-je raison de penser que la nature a été une source d’inspiration dans la création de Unravel ?
Martin : Tout à fait, une grande source d’inspiration. D’abord, il y a évidemment la connexion avec la nature qui m’est venue en jouant dans les bois avec Yarny, et qui a façonné le design global du jeu. Mais il y a aussi cette volonté de faire un jeu vraiment personnel, qui vienne du coeur, et qui s’inspire des choses que l’on connait et que l’on aime. La nature est une part très importante de nos vies ici. Nous voulions partager cela.

AG : Sur le plan visuel, le jeu est très enchanteur. Et sur le plan sonore ? Pensez-vous que la musique et les sons contribuent à la beauté d’un jeu, et plus particulièrement dans Unravel ?
Martin : La musique contribue à la beauté, bien entendu, mais elle joue aussi un grand rôle dans la narration. Unravel raconte son histoire sans aucun mot, ce qui rend la musique d’autant plus importante. Elle permet d’établir une atmosphère, de créer de la tension, de générer des émotions. En fait, je pense que l’histoire d’Unravel a pas mal en commun avec la musique : riche en détails et en émotions, mais pas de « faits » pré-enregistrés qui s’imposent au joueur et qu’il doit recevoir passivement. On vous invite à interpréter, à réfléchir, à être actifs.

AG : J’ai employé le mot « beauté » : pensez-vous qu’un jeu doive tendre vers le beau ? Que signifie « beau », pour vous ?
Martin : Oui, les jeux doivent être beaux, selon moi, à ceci près que la beauté recouvre de nombreuses réalités, et qu’elle n’est définitivement pas que visuelle. Il peut y avoir de la beauté dans le design, dans le système de commandes, dans les mécaniques de jeu, etc. Je pense que la beauté est atteinte lorsque les choses font précisément ce qu’elles sont censées faire, ni plus ni moins.

AG : Si le jeu vidéo est un art, pensez-vous avoir réalisé une oeuvre d’art avec Unravel ?
Martin : Oui, je le pense sincèrement.

AG : Avez-vous déjà d’autres projets en vue à Coldwood ?
Martin : Nous avons toujours plein d’idées, mais pour le moment nous nous concentrons exclusivement sur Unravel.

AG : Eh bien merci à vous, c’est tout ce que j’avais à vous demander. Souhaitez-vous ajouter quelque chose ?
Martin : Merci pour toute l’attention, je suppose. 🙂 Ça fait vraiment du bien de pouvoir enfin parler d’Unravel, et encore plus de voir que les gens le « comprennent » vraiment.

Unravel sortira prochainement sur PC, Xbox One et PlayStation 4. Pour en savoir plus, rendez-vous sur le site officiel du jeu : www.unravelgame.com. Vous pouvez également suivre Martin (@monkeybeach), Coldwood Interactive (@ColdwoodGame) et Unravel (@unravel_game) sur leurs comptes Twitter respectifs. Un grand merci à Coldwood et à Martin pour leur gentillesse !

En lire +
Martin Sahlin et sa vision du jeu vidéo :
A propos d’Unravel :
D’autres visions du jeu vidéo comme art :

Une réflexion sur “Unravel & le jeu vidéo comme art, entretien avec Martin Sahlin

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *