banner-child-of-light

5 Reasons To (Re-)Play Child Of Light

Happy birthday, Child of Light! The critically acclaimed platformer-slash-RPG developed by Ubisoft Montreal was released exactly two years ago. Had my blog already existed back then, I probably would have written an article about Child of Light, since almost everything in this game makes it a wonderful and poetic adventure, worthy of being mentioned on a blog devoted to the gaming arts. It tells the story of a young girl named Aurora, who has to journey through the enchanted-yet-dangerous world of Lemuria to retrieve three lost lights: the sun, the moon and the stars, with the help of some allies she meets along the way. Two years after its release, here are 5 reasons why I think you should play or replay Child of Light

Reason #1 – The wonderful art style

Powered by the Ubi Art Framework (a video game engine originally developed by Ubisoft Montpellier for Rayman Origins), that allows 2D-artists to easily integrate their artworks into the game, Child of Light‘s environments and characters look like animated watercoloured paintings. Everywhere in this world, there seems to be magic in the air. It feels absolutely wonderful to fly through enchanted forests and valleys alongside Aurora. The trailer below is a compilation of various environments from the game – and I think the video speaks for itself.

Reason #2 – The coming-of-age fairytale

Child of Light was written by Ubisoft Montreal writer Jeffrey Yohalem (Assassin’s Creed IIFar Cry 3). It tells the story of a young Austrian princess who suddenly becomes trapped into another world where dark creatures attack the innocent and a mad Queen has risen to power. As she seeks the moon, the stars and the sun to bring the light back to a land ruled by the night, Aurora will progressively grow from child to adult. Inspired by fairytales, Child of Light will make you feel like you are playing one of the stories you were told as a child.

image-childoflight
From Princess to Queen.

Reason #3 – The epic battles

Child of Light‘s gameplay is a tribute to the RPG genre. Aurora regularly battles against enemies along with her allies. The combat system is similar to Final Fantasy‘s active-time battle (ATB) system, with a time bar indicating when every participant in the battle can attack. Combats in the game can be quite tricky sometimes, and the boss fights are just as epic as you might expect.

Reason #4 – The rhyming dialogues

The dialogues in Child of Light are all written in rhymes. This is no classic poetry, and the writing of the rhymes isn’t always perfect, but the idea itself adds to the overall poetic atmosphere of the game. Below is the opening cutscee of the game, told in rhymes.

Reason #5 – The poetic soundtrack

Child of Light‘s soundtrack is probably its greatest quality. Composed by Canadian singer Coeur de Pirate, the game’s soundtrack is one of the greatest game soundtracks ever. Not kidding. Coeur de Pirate has just the right amount of talent and sensitivity to score such a game. The game’s music is filled with melancholia and poetry, hope and despair, beauty and fear.

I’m afraid it takes more than a bullet-list to describe the experience that is Child of Light. Whether you are into RPGs and platformers or not, this game is worth a few hours of your time (the game is pretty short, but it leaves a long-lasting impression for sure). I believe it mustn’t be too expensive by now, and it is available on almost every system out there, which is yet another reason to play the game. Although it takes inspiration in classic RPGs, the game also reminded me of Okami for its art style and fairytale-like story, or Journey for the majesty of its landscapes. I also thought the art style and story were somehow reminsiscent of some of the productions from Studio Ghibli. Anyway, the game is exactly the kind of game I love, and it still deserves some praise, two years after it was released. If you have played it, I’m interested in knowing what you thought of the game, and what were the reasons why you liked Child of Light – feel free to share your thoughts in the comments section! And if you haven’t, well, you know what to do.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

banner-child-of-light

5 raisons de (re-)jouer à Child of Light

Joyeux anniversaire, Child of Light ! Développé par Ubisoft Montréal et acclamé par la critique, ce jeu de plateforme/RPG est sorti il y a exactement deux ans. Si mon blog avait existé alors, j’aurais très probablement écrit un article sur Child of Light, tant tout dans ce jeu en fait une aventure poétique et merveilleuse, méritant sa place sur un blog dédié à l’art vidéoludique. Il raconte l’histoire d’une petite fille du nom d’Aurora, qui doit entamer un périple à travers le monde enchanté mais dangereux de Lemuria, afin de retrouver trois lumières oubliées – le soleil, la lune et les étoiles – avec l’aide de plusieurs alliés qu’elle rencontre en chemin. Deux ans après sa sortie, voici 5 raisons de jouer ou de rejouer à Child of Light.

Raison n°1 – La sublime patte graphique

Créés avec le Ubi Art Framework, (un moteur de jeu développé à l’origine par Ubisoft Montpellier pour Rayman Origins) qui permet aux artistes 2D d’insérer aisément leurs dessins dans le jeu, les environnements et personnages de Child of Light sont semblables à des aquarelles animées. Partout dans ce monde, il paraît y avoir de la magie dans l’air. S’envoler aux côtés d’Aurora à travers des forêts et des vallées enchantées est une sensation tout-à-fait unique. La bande-annonce ci-dessous est une compilation de divers environnements du jeu, et je pense que la vidéo parle d’elle-même.

Raison n°2 – L’histoire narrée façon conte de fée

L’auteur de Child of Light est l’un des scénaristes d’Ubisoft Montréal, Jeffrey Yohalem (Assassin’s Creed IIFar Cry 3). Le jeu raconte comment une jeune princesse autrichienne se retrouve prisonnière d’un monde à part, où les créatures de l’ombre attaquent les innocents et où une reine malfaisante a pris le pouvoir. Alors qu’elle recherche la lune, le soleil et les étoiles, Aurora grandit peu à peu, de l’enfance à l’âge adulte. Inspiré par les contes de fée, Child of Light donne le sentiment de jouer l’une des histoires que l’on nous racontait avant de dormir étant petit.

image-childoflight
La princesse devient reine.

Raison n°3 – Les combats épiques

Le gameplay de Child of Light est un hommage au genre des RPG. Aurora affronte régulièrement des ennemis, aux côtés de ses alliés. Le système de combat est semblable au active time battle (ATB) de la série Final Fantasy, avec une jauge indiquant le moment où chacun des participants au combat peut attaquer. Les combats dans ce jeu s’avèrent parfois assez rudes, en particulier ceux contre les boss, qui sont tout aussi épiques qu’on pouvait l’espérer d’un tel jeu.

Raison n°4 – Les dialogues en rimes

Tous les dialogues de Child of Light sont écrits en rimes. Ce n’est certes pas de la poésie classique, et l’écriture en est parfois bancale, notamment en version française, mais l’idée même contribue à l’ambiance tout-à-fait poétique du jeu. Ci-dessous, l’introduction du jeu, racontée en rimes.

Raison n°5 – La bande-son poétique

La bande originale de Child of Light est sans doute l’une de ses plus grandes qualités. Composée par Coeur de Pirate, dont c’est la première expérience en la matière, la musique de Child of Light figure parmi les plus belles bandes originales de jeu jamais composées. Et je pèse mes mots. Coeur de Pirate a juste assez de talent et de sensibilité pour mettre en musique un tel jeu – à mi-chemin entre poésie et mélancolie, entre espoir et désespoir, entre beauté et peur du danger.

Il faudrait plus qu’une telle liste pour décrire l’expérience qu’est Child of Light. Que vous soyez ou non amateurs de jeux de plateforme et de RPG, ce jeu vaut bien les quelques heures que vous lui consacrerez (il est assez court, mais il vous laissera néanmoins une impression durable). Je doute qu’il coûte très cher aujourd’hui, et il est disponible sur presque tous les supports possibles – raison de plus pour y jouer. Bien qu’il puise son inspiration dans les RPG classiques, le jeu m’a également rappelé Okami, pour son style grahique et son histoire digne d’un conte, ou encore Journey pour ses paysages majestueux. Le style et l’histoire m’ont également évoqué vaguement les productions des studios Ghibli. Child of Light est en tout cas typiquement le genre de jeux que j’aime, et il mérite encore qu’on parle de lui deux ans après sa sortie. Si vous y avez joué, j’aimerais connaitre votre avis sur le jeu, et les raisons qui vous ont fait aimer Child of Light : n’hésitez pas à partager vos impressions dans les commentaires de cet article. Et si vous n’y avez pas encore joué, eh bien, vous savez quoi faire.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *