I Visited the “Art in Video Games” Exhibition In Paris

From September 25, 2015 to March 6, 2016, the French museum Art Ludique-Le Musée presents an exhibition dedicated to the Art in Video Games. Before even starting the actual development of a game, every studio has several artists draw traditional or digital paintings, portraits, storyboards, concept arts, that are later used as the basis for all the environments and characters depicted in the game. The Art Ludique museum’s idea was to gather several of these preparatory artworks and display them in public – a public who might not be familiar with the idea that game makers are above all artists. Prior to the opening of the exhibition, the curators contacted several French game developers, asking them to send concept arts and other artworks used in the creation of their games. At their surprise, they received hundreds of artworks from all kinds of studios, allowing them to pick out their favourite ones and put together a unique exhibition, thus paying tribute to all the artists who take part in the conception of video games. It is the first time that such an exhibition is presented in the world. Being a blogger who considers video games as a powerful art medium, I obviously wanted to visit this exhibition myself. A couple days ago, I finally took the time to go at the Cité de la Mode et du Design in Paris, where the Art Ludique Museum is located. Here is what I thought of the exhibition.

A brand new point of view upon video games

Whether or not you are a gamer yourself, this exhibition will surprise you: non-gamers probably never saw this kind of concept arts before, while gamers generally see these artworks online, in the ‘Bonus’ section of a game or in artbooks. And trust me, this is nothing compared to seeing these artworks for real, displayed in a museum. We generally associate museums with “traditional” and “noble” arts. Somehow, we tend to have this idea that a work of art that is exhibited in a museum is more valuable than other works of art (of course that is not always true, but it still feels that way for most of us). Once displayed in this museum, video games are suddenly elevated to the status of Art. It conveys quite a puzzling feeling to see these works in such a particular context, and it totally changes your perspective upon them. You usually see concept arts online, between two Instagram posts – you watch them for a few seconds, give them a thumbs up and then move on. There, in the museum, these artworks look completely different. For the first time, I realised how valuable these works of art actually are. I took the time to look closely at them, and to appreciate the talent of the artists who painted them.

image-art-ludique-musee

We’re rarely aware of the fact that there are artists behind concept arts, since it is game publishers – not the artists themselves – who release artbooks or post artworks online. This mechanical process tends to depersonalize these artworks – we associate concept arts with one particular game, one particular studio, but rarely with one particular artist. We rarely know the names of the concept artists. Thus I think it is a great recognition for them to see their works framed to the wall, with their signature at the bottom and a small museum plaque indicating their name right next to it. After seeing this exhibition, I will never look at concept arts in the same way. And it will probably change your vision of video games, too – especially if you aren’t a gamer yourself.

Actual artworks, actual artists

The exhibition also consists in some videos of game developers and artists being interviewed about their inspirations, about the techniques they use, about their approach of game-making. You can see how game developers go from one concept art to an actual game level, or from one 2D-portrait to a 3D game character. The process of creating games suddenly appears less technical, less industrial and more human, more personal. The people who create games aren’t just businessmen and producers, they are actual humans, actual artists who work with passion and talent.

image-art-ludique
You’ll also find a portrait of David Bowie’s incarnation in the game The Nomad Soul.

Displayed in the exhibition are some game-historical treasures, like early sketches drawn by Michel Ancel when he first imagined the design of Rayman, lifesize portraits of video game characters that make you feel like you are viting the Renaissance section of the Louvre, artworks of various landscapes and cities, clay sculptures of game characters’ faces… Throughout the various sections of the exhibition, different aspects of the conception of video games are explored – recreating cities and historical events, building fantastic universes from scratch, giving life to characters… As you progress through the exhibition and see more and more artworks, you’re actually exploring various worlds and atmospheres – from the hostile nature of Wild to the dystopian Paris of Remember Me – and realise that there is no limit to the developers’ imagination.

image-wild
Michel Ancel’s Wild transports the player in an uncharted, Prehistory-inspired open-world. Artworks for the game are displayed in the exhibition.

Concept artists don’t just create reference images for the developers, they create works of art that work just fine by themselves. Sometimes, artists try to tell stories or to depict details that won’t even make it into the game, but that are relevant as far as the artwork itself is concerned.

Reinventing Arts

The general idea behind the exhibition is the fact that “2.0 arts” are just as valuable as traditional arts – in fact, they are an evolution of traditional arts. The game developers that are interviewed in videos all claim the same thing: with the creation of video games, the only thing that changes for the artist is the tool, not the technique or the art itself. Digital painting requires just as much talent as traditional painting, facial animation and character modelization are as much of an art as manual sculpting.

New technologies will not make an artist less of an artist – on the contrary, they can be a powerful tool for him to be able to express his creativity more freely. The final section of the exhibition focuses notably on Child of Light and Rayman Legends – two games that were created using the UbiArt Framework, a wonderful tool created by Ubisoft Montpellier, that allows artists to insert their drawings directly into the game levels. This is just another example of how technologies can provide new tools to artists – their artworks can become actual games within just a few seconds (okay, maybe more than a few seconds, but that’s still impressive).

image-art-ludique

The curators of the exhibition make an interesting comparison, by stating that development studios are the new artist studios – places where several talented artists work together and learn from one another, in order to create one great work of art together. Today, game studios are one of the many places where artists – because that’s what they are – can express their talent and imagination. Video games might just be the future of Art.

The French touch isn’t dead

The complete name of the exhibition is “The Art in Video Games – French Inspiration”. And French it is, with artworks from French studios such as Quantic Dream (The Nomad SoulHeavy RainBeyond: Two Souls), Dontnod Entertainment (Remember MeLife is Strange) or Ubisoft Montpellier (the Rayman franchise). The exhibition is a great tribute to the French gaming industry. More than in other countries, French developers have always seen video games as a great medium to create art and to tell wonderful stories. In the 90s, we called that particular vision of video games “The French Touch”. Developers like Eric Chahi (Another World, 1991) or Frédérick Raynal (Alone in the Dark, 1992, Little Big Adventure 1 2, 1994 & 1996) expressed in their games an artistic, poetic but also quite unconventional vision of video games – great stories, poetic environments, an emphasis on the atmosphere more than the actual gameplay and action, which contrasted with the games of their time.

image-another-world
Another World had an unconventional and difficult gameplay, but also a very peculiar atmosphere that was inspired by cinema, science-fiction and animation.

It is a shame, given its focus on French video games, that the exhibition does not give the visitor some sort of historical insight upon this era – but it does prove that this particular vision of video games is still relevant in France. Games like Ubisoft Montpellier’s Valiant Hearts: The Great War, Wild Sheep Studio’s Wild, Dontnod’s Remember Me and Life is Strange are still representative of a particular “French Touch”, with a great focus on story, environments and narration, sometimes before fun and action. I’m not saying that there aren’t any talents in the game industry outside of France (I may be French, but I’m not that pretentious). Yet it still makes me proud to see that my country has a lot to provide to an industry (and an art) that I love, especially considering that one of 2015’s most critically-acclaimed games was Life is Strange, a (wonderful) French game. It just seems particularly significant and logical, after all, that such an exhibition should take place for the first time in France, with French games being displayed.

image-seasonsafterfall
The exhibition also gives credit to lesser-known independent games, such as Seasons After Fall, a French game set for a 2016 release. Artworks for this game definitely made me eager to play it!

A “Total Work of Art”?

Jean-Jacques Launier, founder of the museum and curator of the exhibition often says that in his eyes video games embody the “Total Work of Art”. They require skills in drawing, painting, sculpture, at creating entire universes and hundreds of characters per game, mise en scène work, animation, storyline, music and of course, the conception of gameplays that transcends interactivity. (Presentation of the exhibition on the museum’s official website)

While I absolutely loved this exhibition and although I must thank the curators of the Art Ludique museum for having devoted an exhibition to video games for the first time in the world, I still think it was too bad that they did not try to go further in their exploration of the gaming arts. Graphics and concept arts clearly are wonderful works of art, but what about the art of conceiving the gameplay, the art of writing of a story, the art of composing game soundtracks? It could have been interesting to find ways to highlight other aspects of the creation of video games, that are just are artistic and that require just as much talent as graphic arts. In the room where concept arts for Child of Light were shown, the game’s original soundtrack (composed by Canadian singer Coeur de Pirate) was played in the background. The combination of artworks and music conveyed an absolutely poetic and peaceful atmosphere – reminiscent of the actual game – and I thought other sections of the exhibition could have benefited from such a combination. The exhibition does prove that concept artists are, precisely, artists, but it does not give enough credit to all the other people that are involved in the creation of video games. Maybe next time, in another exhibition?

All in all, I think this exhibition still does a great job of changing people’s views on video games, and that is already a lot. I think anyone can appreciate it – both people who are familiar with video games and neophytes. If you are a gamer yourself, you might be surprised to see elements from video games in a totally different context, and if you aren’t, I believe this exhibition can be a great way for you to learn more about the game industry, and to deconstruct whatever stereotypes you might have regarding video games. I don’t think everyone realizes how much art is at the core of game-making. So, if you happen to be in Paris before the end of the exhibition in March, do not hesitate at all and just go visit the museum. It is definitely worth it!

The exhibition “The Art in Video Games – French Inspiration” takes place until March 6, 2016, at the Art Ludique museum (34, quai d’Austerlitz – 75013 Paris). You can visit the exhibition’s official website, the museum’s Facebook page and its Twitter account.

One thought on “I Visited the “Art in Video Games” Exhibition In Paris

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

J’ai vu l’exposition « L’Art dans le jeu vidéo » à Paris

Du 25 septembre 2015 au 6 mars 2016, le Musée Art Ludique, à Paris, présente une exposition dédiée à « L’Art dans le Jeu Vidéo ». Préalablement au développement d’un jeu, chaque studio de développement demande à ses artistes de réaliser des dessins (traditionnels ou numériques), des portraits, des storyboards, des croquis préparatoires, qui sont ensuite utilisés comme référence pour l’ensemble des environnements et personnages dépeints dans le jeu. L’idée du Musée Art Ludique, c’est d’avoir rassemblé plusieurs de ces œuvres préparatoires pour les exposer en public – un public qui ignore généralement que les concepteurs de jeux vidéo sont avant tout des artistes. En amont de l’exposition, les curateurs ont invité plusieurs studios français à envoyer plusieurs croquis préparatoires et autres œuvres réalisées au cours de la création de leurs jeux. À leur grande surprise, ils ont reçu des centaines d’artworks de toutes sortes de studios, parmi lesquelles une sélection a été retenue pour concevoir une exposition unique en son genre, et rendre ainsi hommage à l’ensemble des artistes qui participent à la conception d’un jeu vidéo. C’est la première fois dans le monde qu’une exposition de ce genre est réalisée. En tant que blogueur qui considère le jeu vidéo comme une puissante forme d’art, je me devais de visiter cette exposition moi-même : il y a quelques jours, j’ai enfin pris le temps de me rendre à la Cité de la Mode et du Design, à Paris, où se trouve le Musée Art Ludique. Voici mes impressions sur l’exposition.

Un tout nouveau regard sur le jeu vidéo

Que vous soyez vous-même amateur de jeu vidéo ou non, il y a fort à parier que cette exposition saura vous surprendre dans tous les cas : ceux qui ne connaissent pas l’univers du jeu vidéo n’auront sans doute jamais vu ce genre de dessins auparavant, les autres les auront déjà vus sur Internet, dans les bonus de tel jeu vidéo ou encore dans un artbook de croquis préparatoires – mais jamais dans un musée. Or, voir ces œuvres « pour de vrai », exposées dans un musée, est une expérience totalement différente et inédite. Dans l’inconscient collectif, le musée est le lieu dédié aux arts « traditionnels » et « nobles ». D’une certaine manière, on a cette idée qu’une œuvre d’art exposée dans un musée a plus de valeur que les autres œuvres d’art (ce qui n’est bien évidemment pas toujours le cas, mais même inconsciemment, c’est un sentiment que l’on tend à partager). Faire passer le jeu vidéo dans la sphère d’un musée semble l’élever soudainement au rang d’art reconnu et incontestable. Pour le visiteur, le sentiment est troublant, et la façon dont on appréhende le jeu vidéo s’en trouve changée. On a l’habitude de voir ces dessins sur les réseaux sociaux, entre deux photos Instagram – on les regarde quelques secondes, on like et on passe à autre chose. Là, dans ce musée, ils prennent une toute autre dimension. Pour la première fois, j’ai pris conscience de la valeur réelle de ces œuvres d’art. J’ai pris le temps de les voir, de les regarder attentivement, et d’apprécier le talent des artistes qui les ont réalisées.

image-art-ludique-musee

On ne pense que trop rarement aux artistes qui se cachent derrière les dessins préparatoires, puisque ce sont les éditeurs de jeux vidéo – et non les artistes eux-mêmes – qui publient les artbooks rassemblant ces œuvres, ou qui en diffusent quelques-unes sur leur site Internet. Cela rend la chose assez mécanique, moins personnelle : on associe les concept arts à un jeu, à un studio, mais rarement à un artiste en particulier. On ne connait d’ailleurs que très rarement le nom des concept artists. Pour eux, c’est donc une véritable reconnaissance que de voir leurs œuvres encadrées au mur, avec leur signature tout en bas et leur nom sur un cartel juste à côté. Je ne regarderai plus ces esquisses de la même manière. Et je pense que c’est le cas pour tous les visiteurs, en particulier ceux qui ne connaissent pas particulièrement l’univers du jeu vidéo.

De véritables œuvres d’art, de véritables artistes

L’exposition présente également plusieurs entretiens filmés avec des développeurs et artistes, les interrogeant sur leurs inspirations, les techniques qu’ils emploient, leur approche de la conception d’un jeu vidéo, etc. Nous pouvons y voir comment les développeurs passent du croquis préparatoire au véritable niveau de jeu, du portrait en deux dimensions au personnage en 3D. Le processus de création d’un jeu vidéo nous apparaît soudain moins technique, moins industriel et donc plus humain, plus personnel. Ceux qui créent les jeux vidéo ne sont pas que des hommes d’affaires ou des producteurs, ce sont surtout des personnes, de véritables artistes animés par la passion et le talent.

image-art-ludique
Vous trouverez notamment le portrait de David Bowie, dans le jeu The Nomad Soul.

On trouve au cours de cette exposition de véritables trésors de l’histoire vidéoludique, comme des croquis dessinés par Michel Ancel lorsqu’il imagina Rayman, des portraits de personnages grandeur nature (qui nous donnent d’ailleurs l’impression d’être au milieu de la section Renaissance du Louvre), des peintures de divers paysages, villes et autres environnements, des visages sculptés dans l’argile… Au fil de l’exposition, les différents aspects de la création d’un jeu sont explorés : la recréation de villes et d’événements historiques, la conception d’univers fantastiques, la création de personnages plus vrais que nature… Chaque nouvelle œuvre nous transporte dans différents univers, différentes atmosphères, de la nature hostile de Wild au Paris dystopique de Remember Me – et l’on prend conscience qu’il n’y a aucune limite à l’imagination des développeurs.

image-wild
Wild, le jeu de Michel Ancel, transporte le joueur dans un univers vierge, inspiré par la préhistoire. Des artworks du jeu sont visibles au cours de l’exposition.

Les concept artists ne font pas que fournir aux développeurs des images de référence, ils façonnent des œuvres d’art qui se suffisent largement à elles-mêmes. Ils racontent parfois des histoires inédites, ou représentent des détails qui ne seront pas évoqués dans le jeu final, mais qui ont un sens au regard du dessin en lui-même.

Réinventer l’Art

L’idée qui anime l’exposition, c’est que les « arts 2.0 » valent tout autant que les arts traditionnels : ils sont, de fait, une simple évolution de ces arts traditionnels. Les développeurs interrogés au travers des vidéos s’accordent à dire la même chose : dans le jeu vidéo, la seule chose qui change, pour l’artiste, c’est l’outil, non pas la technique ou l’art en soi. La peinture numérique demande autant de talent que la peinture traditionnelle, l’animation faciale et la modélisation de personnages sont autant un art que la sculpture manuelle.

image-art-ludique
Le niveau de détail des sculptures de référence est absolument bluffant.

Les nouvelles technologies ne réduisent pas le mérite ou le talent des artistes ; au contraire, ils sont un outil puissant leur permettant d’exprimer encore plus librement leur créativité. La dernière section de l’exposition se concentre notamment sur les jeux Child of Light et Rayman Legends, tous deux créés à l’aide du UbiArt Framework, un outil ingénieux conçu par Ubisoft Montpellier, permettant aux artistes d’insérer leurs dessins directement dans les niveaux d’un jeu. Un autre exemple de la façon dont la technologie peut fournir à l’artiste de nouveaux outils – ses dessins peuvent se changer en jeu vidéo en l’espace de quelques secondes (sans doute un peu plus que quelques secondes, pour être exact, mais quand même, c’est impressionnant).

Les commissaires de l’exposition font une comparaison intéressante, en affirmant que le studio de développement est le nouvel atelier d’artiste : un lieu où plusieurs artistes talentueux travaillent ensemble et apprennent les uns des autres, dans le but de créer une œuvre d’art ensemble. Aujourd’hui, les studios de jeux vidéo sont l’un des nombreux lieux où les artistes – car c’est ce qu’ils sont – peuvent laisser libre cours à leur talent et leur imagination.  Le jeu vidéo pourrait bien incarner le futur de l’Art.

La french touch n’est pas morte

Le nom complet de l’exposition est « L’Art dans le Jeu Vidéo – L’inspiration Française ». Et Française, l’expostion l’est bel et bien, avec des artworks de studios français tels que Quantic Dream (The Nomad SoulHeavy RainBeyond: Two Souls), Dontnod Entertainment (Remember MeLife is Strange) ou Ubisoft Montpellier (la série Rayman). L’exposition rend un bel hommage à l’industrie vidéoludique française. Plus que dans les autres pays, les développeurs français ont toujours considéré le jeu vidéo comme un support propice à l’art et au récit de fabuleuses histoires. Dans les années 1990, cette vision toute particulière du jeu vidéo avait un nom : la french touch. Des développeurs comme Eric Chahi (Another World, 1991) ou Frédérick Raynal (Alone in the Dark, 1992, Little Big Adventure 1 2, 1994 & 1996) exprimaient dans leurs jeux une vision artistique, poétique mais aussi quelque peu marginale du jeu vidéo : de belles histoires, des environnements poétiques, un accent mis sur l’ambiance plutôt que sur le gameplay et l’action, pour un résultat qui tranchait littéralement avec les jeux de l’époque.

image-another-world
Another World est un jeu qui a divisé pour son gameplay à la fois atypique et exigeant, mais qui a également marqué l’histoire du jeu vidéo par son esthétique inspirée par le cinéma, la science-fiction et les films d’animation.

Dommage, étant donné l’accent mis sur le jeu vidéo français, que l’exposition ne donne pas au visiteur un regard historique sur cette ère toute particulière – pour autant, elle prouve que cette vision du jeu vidéo est toujours d’actualité en France. Des jeux tels que Soldats Inconnus : Mémoires de la Grande Guerre (Ubisoft Montpellier), Wild (Wild Sheep Studio), Remember Me ou encore Life is Strange (Dontnod Entertainment), sont représentatifs d’une french touch moderne, qui place l’accent sur l’histoire, les environnements, la narration, parfois davantage que sur l’amusement ou sur l’action. Ne me faites pas dire ce que je n’ai pas dit : je ne prétends pas qu’il n’y a qu’en France qu’on trouve des développeurs talentueux (j’ai beau être français, je ne suis pas prétentieux à ce point). Mais tout de même, je suis fier de constater que mon pays a beaucoup à apporter à une industrie (et à un art) que j’apprécie particulièrement, surtout lorsque l’un des jeux les plus acclamés par la critique en 2015 n’est autre que Life is Strange, (sublime) jeu français. Finalement, le fait qu’une telle exposition ait lieu pour la première fois en France, avec des jeux français, semble assez significatif et logique.

image-seasonsafterfall
L’exposition met aussi en avant des jeux indépendants moins connus, comme Seasons After Fall, jeu français dont la sortie est prévue pour 2016. Les esquisses préparatoires de ce jeu m’ont littéralement conquis !

Un « Art Total » ?

Jean- Jacques Launier, fondateur du musée et commissaire de l’exposition dit souvent qu’à ses yeux, le jeu vidéo incarne « l’Art Total » car il fait appel au dessin, à la peinture, à la sculpture, à la création d’univers entiers et de centaines de personnages par jeu, à la mise en scène, à l’animation, au scénario, à la musique, et bien sûr à la conception d’un mode de jeu destiné à transcender l’interactivité. (Présentation de l’exposition sur le site officiel du musée)

Bien que j’aie adoré cette exposition, et que je tienne à remercier le Musée Art Ludique pour cette première mondiale, je regrette malgré tout qu’elle ne soit pas allée plus loin dans son exploration de l’art vidéoludique. Les graphismes, les dessins préparatoires, sont effectivement de sublimes objets d’art – mais pourquoi ne pas s’être également intéressé à l’art de concevoir des mécaniques de jeu, l’art d’écrire un scénario, l’art de composer la bande-son d’un jeu ? Il aurait pu s’avérer intéressant de mettre en avant d’autres aspects de la création du jeu vidéo, qui sont tout autant artistiques et réclament tout autant de talent que les arts graphiques. Dans la salle où sont exposés les dessins de Child of Light, on peut entendre en fond sonore la bande-son du jeu, composée par Coeur de Pirate. Le mélange entre les dessins et la musique met en place une atmosphère véritablement paisible et poétique (rappelant celle du jeu lui-même) et il m’a semblé que d’autres sections de l’exposition auraient pu bénéficier d’une telle installation. L’exposition prouve bel et bien que les concept artists sont, précisément, des artistes, mais elle ne rend selon moi pas suffisamment compte du travail des autres personnes impliquées dans la création d’un jeu vidéo. Peut-être la prochaine fois, au cours d’une autre exposition ?

Je fais le difficile, cela dit, car au bout du compte, cette exposition apporte beaucoup, en contribuant à changer le regard du public sur le jeu vidéo. Je pense que n’importe qui peut apprécier la visite, amateurs comme néophytes. Si vous aimez les jeux, vous serez surpris de voir ces œuvres dans un contexte totalement différent ; si vous connaissez moins cet univers, cette exposition peut s’avérer un excellent point d’entrée vers la culture vidéoludique, et un très bon moyen de venir à bout des idées reçues que vous pourriez avoir sur le jeu vidéo. On ne réalise pas suffisamment combien l’art se trouve au cœur de la création d’un jeu vidéo. Alors, si vous vous trouvez à Paris avant la fin de l’exposition, n’hésitez pas une seule seconde et rendez-vous au musée Art Ludique. Vous ne le regretterez pas.

L’exposition « L’Art dans le Jeu Vidéo – L’inspiration Française » se déroule jusqu’au 6 mars 2016 au musée Art Ludique (34, quai d’Austerlitz – 75013 Paris). Pour plus de renseignements, rendez-vous sur le site officiel de l’expositionla page Facebook du musée ou bien son compte Twitter.

Une réflexion sur “J’ai vu l’exposition « L’Art dans le jeu vidéo » à Paris

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *