French Politicians, Buy Yourselves A Console

French Socialists, what is your problem with video games? A few months ago, in the first article of my blog, I quoted the leader of the French Socialist Party, Jean-Christophe Cambadélis, who said that “PS stands for Parti Socialiste, not for PlayStation, which is about shooting down everyone as fast as possible”. Cambadélis used this phrase to refer once again to the common idea that video games = violence, proving he knew nothing about the medium in general. Seriously, what year is this, 2002? (Nothing particular happened in 2002, it just happens to be a long time ago.) No longer than last month, a socialist députée claimed that French video games were “too sexist”, using groundless arguments. The French game industry actually isn’t the most sexist in the world, but little did she know about it. Finally, when François Hollande reshuffled his cabinet last Thursday, French Culture Minister Fleur Pellerin was dismissed from her functions – an article in Le Parisien stated that fellow socialists pejoratively call her the “video game minister” – i.e. a minister that is incompetent, because she’d rather help the video game industry than Culture with a capital “C”. Once again, games are accused of being too violent, too stupid – in the eyes of politicians, games cannot be a part of culture, and the gaming industry simply is pointless. French Socialists (and other politicians), here is a question for you: have you played a video game, ever? And more generally: what planet are you living on, exactly?

A “video game minister” is not so bad, after all

Since you are lecturing gamers for being so unbelievably stupid and violent, let me lecture you as politicians for being so unbelievably ignorant: honestly, giving your opinion on a medium without knowing anything about it, that pretty much sucks. Don’t even try to pretend that you are familiar with video games: it is quite obvious that you actually aren’t. For starters: not all video games are violent. I already discussed this issue in my blog’s first article, in which I mentioned Jean-Christophe Cambadélis’ statement, explained why I am not a murderer even though I have been playing games ever since I was old enough to hold a controller, and why video games are cultural if not artistic goods, whether it bothers you or not.

I do not have a definite opinion about Fleur Pellerin. Seeing her evicted from the government does not bother me that much, and this article is by no means a tribute to the former Culture Minister, whose cultural policy probably had some flaws. What really bothers me, however, is the way the government refers to her as the “video game minister” with such a critical tone, as if the idea that a politician might work in favor of the game industry was just unbearable. On the contrary, it was about time someone finally took care of the video game industry in France, as all previous governments did very little to help it. Video games deserve a lot more of politicans’ attention. As noticed in an article published in Le Monde.fr two days ago, video games are the ninth biggest cultural industry in the world in terms of revenue, which makes it less lucrative than television, visual arts or press, but more lucrative than cinema or music. Furthermore, exportations of French video games are more lucrative than exportations of French books (in terms of revenue, once again). In addition to that, I believe there is still some sort of “cultural exception” in France, which I already mentioned in my previous article about the “Art in Video Games – French Inspiration” exhibition: some kind of french touch, a particular vision of game-making that makes the whole industry evolve towards a very specific and interesting direction. In a nutshell, video games are a valuable asset for France, both in terms of cultural and economic power. So, the way I see it, a “video game minister” isn’t such a bad thing. Not a bad thing at all, actually.

image-fleur-pellerin
Fleur Pellerin delivering a speech in Dontnod Entertainment’s studio, the day she received the 2015 “Baromètre du Jeu Vidéo”.

Fleur Pellerin, along with the Secretary of State for Digital Affairs, Axelle Lemaire, really did her best to help French game developers. Since 2007, French game studios benefit from a tax credit called “crédit d’impôt jeux vidéo” (CIJV) – a credit granted by the State in order to stimulate the creation of French video games, by reducing the development costs by 20%. In 2015, Fleur Pellerin’s minister of culture expanded the CIJV to “video games specifically designed for a mature audience”, meaning video games tagged “18+” by the PEGI system. These games used to be considered as too violent to be eligible to the CIJV. Although Fleur Pellerin and Axelle Lemaire’s reform maintains a restriction of the CIJV for games that contain pornography or that are too obviosuly violent, it really is a great step towards more liberty for game developers. French studios are no longer forced to soften the content of their games if they want to receive a financial help from the State. In the end, it is a great evolution that can only be profitable for France, and that was very well received by the French video game industry.

Are French games really too sexist?

Unfortunately, most French politicians are not as open-minded as Fleur Pellerin or Axelle Lemaire. Last January, Socialist députée Catherine Coutelle wanted to amend a French “Law for a Digital Republic”. Her amendment aimed at excluding from the CIJV all games that contain “degrading portrayals of women”. Catherine Coutelle justified her amendment as such:

“Either there are no female characters whatsoever, as it is the case in “Assassin’s Creed”, which totally negates the existence of women; either the female protagonists are sexualized and identified by their body – a big butt and big breasts, to put it crudely – while male characters are always decently dressed.” (Catherine Coutelle, quoted by William Audureau in “Des députés socialistes veulent s’attaquer au sexisme dans les jeux vidéo français”, Le Monde.fr, January 13, 2016)

In the end, Catherine Coutelle’s amendment didn’t make it into the law. Probably because someone, at some point, realized how unconvincing and pointless Coutelle’s arguments actually were. Indeed, it looks like Catherine Coutelle needs an update on some points of general knowledge:

Assassin’s Creed? Not a French game. Ubisoft is a French company, indeed, but Assassin’s Creed is mainly developed in Ubisoft’s Montreal studios – which means it isn’t eligible to the French CIJV anyway. Secondly, just because you have heard about a controversy regarding the absence of female protagonist in Assassin’s Creed: Unity doesn’t mean that all Assassin’s Creed games “totally negate the exitence of women”. This controversy was triggered by Ubisoft’s poor justification of the absence of female protagonist in Unity‘s multiplayer mode, which resulted in a bad buzz. Actually, the player can only play as Arno, the game’s protagonist: there are no playable women in the game, simply because there’s only one playable character who turns out to be a man. But instead of saying just that, Ubisoft used a lame excuse about how it would have been too difficult and expensive to create and animate a woman, which was an absurd argument and triggered the whole controversy. It seems to me that Catherine Coutelle only observed the controversy (from a very long distance), and then considered the whole Assassin’s Creed franchise as sexist. Had she better analysed the series, however, she would have noticed that Assassin’s Creed: Liberation (released in 2012, two years before Unity) has a female main character, and that Assassin’s Creed: Syndicate (released in 2015, a year after Unity) has two protagonists, one male and one female. And I’m not even mentioning the numerous female secondary characters in the Assassin’s Creed series. All in all, there is no “negating the existence of women” in Assassin’s Creed. Catherine Coutelle’s argument is not acceptable.

image-assassins-creed
Evie Frye and Aveline de Grandpré, respectively from Syndicate & Liberation.

The French gaming industry, which Coutelle takes as an example of a sexist industry, has actually produced a great number of games with female, independant and non-sexualised protagonists. You might even say that this actually is a French specificity, as opposed to some other countries that tend to produce male-centric games only. In 2003, Beyond Good & Evil featured a woman as the lead: a young journalist named Jade who, struggles to survive a war and overthrow a dictatorship. In Remember Me, Dontnod Entertainment depicted a female protagonist, and then they created Life is Strange, in which at least 50% of the cast is composed of women, including the two main characters, Max and Chloe. As opposed to many other video game women, Max and Chloe are totally independent from men: they do not need them to become themselves or to accomplish things. They are smart, independent women, which is a very positive and progressive representation of women. And by the way, none of the aformentioned characters have “a big butt and big breasts”.

image-jade-bge
Jade, the main character of Beyond Good & Evil.

Everything isn’t perfect in the way women are portrayed in French video games. The French studio Quantic Dream, creator of Heavy Rain and Beyond: Two Souls, does feature female protagonists in its games, but also has a tendency to place its female characters in scenes of assault or rape, which does nothing but contributing to the rape culture, that is already heavily imprinted in people’s minds. So everything definitely isn’t perfect, as I said before, but France does produce games in which women are positively represented – more than other countries, at least. Implying that the French gaming industry is sexist is a negation of all the positive evolutions that have occured in the last few years, and it might also discourage developers to keep evolving towards more representativeness.

image-detroit
In Detroit: Become Human, Quantic Dream will once again feature a female protagonist: Kara, an android that lives in the world of humans.

We should definitely be more careful about the way women are portrayed in video games, and to the amount of crude violence developers put into their games. But banning developers from receiving a tax credit based on subjective and unclear criteria is like depriving game makers from some part of their liberty of creation. If you have read my blog before, you probably know that I believe a sexy character isn’t necessarily a sexist character. It is the case of Lara Croft (for women) or of Nathan Drake (for men). There are many reasons why a video game (or a movie/book) character – whether male or female – might be sexualized, that don’t involve sexism, or even unconscious sexism. Otherwise, one might say that artists who paint naked characters are all sexual addicts, or that movies that feature nudity are sexist, too. Refusing the CIJV to developers who sexualize characters is an incitation to stop sexualizing characters at all. Which, in the end, reduces the artistic liberty of game developers. So my point is: find another culprit, games are not more sexist than any other art medium. Preventing this industry from growing isn’t the right way to reduce sexism.

Sell your Valentine’s gift on eBay and get a console

Blaming video games for almost everything that is wrong in this world? This is seriously getting old. When they underestimate an industry that actually contributes, with or without their help, to the economic and cultural power of France, French politicians are a few years late. And with their help, things would be even better. It is time to change the way we think about video games, and to realize that they are part of our culture. Fleur Pellerin, Axelle Lemaire or anyone else, that doesn’t matter much to me. What I do want, in the end, is to finally see other perspectives for video games than being accused of all sorts of problems, and considered as nothing more than a silly and stupid subculture.

image-life-is-strange
Life is Strange, a French game, is one of the biggest successes of 2015.

To all of you politicians of all sides and all parties, and to all of you video game haters, I only have one thing to say: buy yourselves a console. Or a computer, whatever. Just play. Play. Stop giving your opinion about a medium you know nothing about. Play. Only then will I allow you to talk about video games.

Read more

 

One thought on “French Politicians, Buy Yourselves A Console

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Chers politiques, achetez-vous une console

Dites donc, les élus socialistes, c’est quoi votre problème avec les jeux vidéo ? Non, parce que ça commence à ressembler à de l’acharnement, là. Rappelez-vous, il y a quelques temps maintenant, Jean-Christophe Cambadélis, président du Parti Socialiste, avait déclaré : « PS, cela veut dire Parti socialiste… et pas PlayStation. Il ne s’agit pas de descendre le maximum de socialistes en moins de temps possible », jouant ainsi sur le préjugé bien connu « jeu vidéo = violence », et prouvant sa méconnaissance totale du support. Il serait temps de changer de discours, on n’est plus en 2002 (il ne s’est rien passé de spécial en 2002, c’était juste il y a longtemps). Le mois dernier, la députée socialiste Catherine Coutelle a pointé du doigt le jeu vidéo français pour sexisme, se fondant sur une argumentation bancale, et stigmatisant une fois encore l’industrie vidéoludique française qui, pourtant, est loin d’être scandaleuse en la matière. Et puis, il y a ce remaniement annoncé jeudi dernier, qui pousse vers la sortie la ministre de la Culture et de la Communication, Fleur Pellerin, dont on apprend dans Le Parisien qu’elle est surnommée par ses confrères socialistes « ministre des jeux vidéo », avec tout ce que cela implique de péjoratif – en clair, Fleur Pellerin est tellement inculte qu’elle ne sait s’occuper que des jeux vidéo, mais certainement pas de la Culture avec un grand « C ». C’est bien connu, les jeux, c’est trop violent ; les jeux, c’est pour les débiles ; les jeux, c’est pas de la culture ; les jeux, ça n’a aucune importance pour la France. Ma question est donc la suivante, chers socialistes (et politiques des autres partis, tant qu’à faire) : avez-vous seulement joué à un seul jeu vidéo dans votre vie ? Et, plus largement : sur quelle planète vivez-vous ?

Une « ministre des jeux vidéo », c’est pas si mal, en fait

Puisque vous vous permettez de donner des leçons aux joueurs trop stupides et trop violents, je vais me permettre de vous donner des leçons à vous en tant que politiciens trop ignorants : parler sur un sujet que vous ne connaissez pas, sincèrement, ça craint. Et n’allez pas nous faire croire que vous connaissez votre sujet, car il est évident que ça n’est pas le cas. Pour commencer : non, les jeux vidéo ne sont pas tous violents. Sur ce point, je vous renvoie à mon premier article, dans lequel j’évoquais déjà la sortie de Jean-Christophe Cambadélis, tout en expliquant pourquoi je ne suis pas encore devenu un meurtrier, bien que je joue aux jeux vidéo depuis que j’ai l’âge de tenir une manette ; et pourquoi les jeux vidéo sont effectivement des biens culturels voire artistiques, ne vous en déplaise.

On peut penser ce qu’on veut de Fleur Pellerin. Très honnêtement, son départ ne me fait ni chaud, ni froid, et cet article n’est pas à considérer comme l’éloge d’une ministre dont la politique culturelle est sans doute discutable, y compris dans le champ du jeu vidéo. Ce qui me hérisse les poils, en revanche, c’est l’idée que le gouvernement l’appelle « ministre du jeu vidéo » sur un ton aussi critique, comme si l’idée que quelqu’un puisse chercher à défendre l’industrie vidéoludique en France était franchement inacceptable. Sans que cela signifie qu’il faille totalement se détourner des autres domaines culturels, il était grand temps que quelqu’un se bouge pour faire avancer l’industrie du jeu vidéo français, qui jusque-là avait été plus ou moins laissée à l’abandon par les différents ministères de la culture. Le jeu vidéo mérite qu’on s’y attarde. Ne serait-ce que parce que ça rapporte. Comme le précise un article du Monde.fr paru il y a deux jours : « le jeu vidéo figure au neuvième rang mondial des industries culturelles et créatives en termes de chiffres d’affaires, loin derrière la télévision, les arts visuels et la presse, mais devant le cinéma et la musique ». Mieux encore : « en termes de chiffres d’affaires, le jeu vidéo français s’exporte plus que la littérature française ». Personnellement, j’ajouterai à cela qu’il se dessine en France comme une sorte d’exception culturelle, que j’évoquais déjà dans mon article sur l’exposition « L’Art dans le Jeu Vidéo – L’inspiration française » : une vision toute particulière du jeu vidéo, une french touch rafraîchissante pour l’industrie dans son ensemble. En clair, le jeu vidéo représente véritablement un atout non-négligeable pour la France, culturellement comme économiquement. Par conséquent, un ministre de la culture qui veille au bon développement du jeu vidéo, moi, je trouve ça pas mal. Pas mal du tout, même.

image-fleur-pellerin
Fleur Pellerin recevant le Baromètre 2015 du jeu vidéo dans les locaux de Dontnod Entertainment.

Fleur Pellerin, aux côtés d’Axelle Lemaire, secrétaire d’Etat au numérique, a grandement œuvré pour venir en aide aux développeurs français. En France, depuis 2007, les studios de développement peuvent bénéficier du crédit d’impôt jeux vidéo (CIJV), une aide de l’Etat visant à accompagner la création de jeux vidéo français en réduisant de 20% les dépenses de développement. En 2015, à l’initiative du ministère de la culture de Fleur Pellerin, le CIJV a été étendu aux « jeux vidéo spécifiquement destinés à un public d’adultes et qui sont commercialisés comme tels » – en d’autres termes, les jeux français destinés aux plus de 18 ans, pouvant s’avérer plus violents que les autres ; une catégorie qui jusque là ne pouvait en bénéficier justement pour cette raison. Si la mesure maintient tout de même une réserve pour les jeux estimés les plus graphiquement violents et les jeux à caractère pornographique, elle va néanmoins dans le sens d’une incitation à la création, qui n’enferme plus les développeurs français dans un carcan du type « édulcorez vos jeux ou financez-les vous-mêmes ». En définitive, les choses vont plutôt dans le bon sens, et ça ne peut qu’être profitable à la France. L’industrie vidéoludique française a d’ailleurs salué à plusieurs reprises les mesures prises par Fleur Pellerin.

« Une négation de l’existence de la femme », vraiment ?

Hélas, tous nos dirigeants n’ont pas l’ouverture d’esprit de Fleur Pellerin et d’Axelle Lemaire. La députée socialiste Catherine Coutelle a soumis en janvier dernier, dans le cadre de la loi sur le numérique, un amendement visant à « exclure de l’obtention du crédit d’impôt […] les jeux comportant des représentations dégradantes à l’encontre des femmes ». Catherine Coutelle appuyait alors son propos de la façon suivante :

« Il y a souvent soit une absence complète de personnage féminin, comme dans « Assassin’s Creed », ce qui est une négation de l’existence de la femme; soit des héroïnes très érotisées, identifiées par leur physique, avec des grosses fesses et de gros seins pour le dire crûment, alors que les héros masculins sont tout à fait habillés. » (Catherine Coutelle, citée par William Audureau dans « Des députés socialistes veulent s’attaquer au sexisme dans les jeux vidéo français », Le Monde.fr, 13 janvier 2016)

L’amendement de Catherine Coutelle n’a pas été retenu. Sans doute parce que, quelque part dans le processus, quelqu’un s’est rendu compte que ses arguments ne tenaient absolument pas la route. Il me semble en effet nécessaire de rappeler à madame Coutelle quelques points de culture générale :

Assassin’s Creed ? Pas un jeu français. Tout du moins au sens où la série est dévelopée majoritairement au Québec, dans les studios montréalais d’Ubisoft, entreprise française certes, mais dont les antennes à l’international sont nombreuses. Les jeux de la franchise Assassin’s Creed ne sont donc, de toute manière, pas éligibles au CIJV français. Par ailleurs, ce n’est pas parce que vous avez entendu parler d’une polémique sur l’absence de personnage féminin dans Assassin’s Creed: Unity que tous les jeux Assassin’s Creed contribuent à une « négation de l’existence de la femme ». La polémique en question est née d’une erreur de communication d’Ubisoft, qui a mal su justifier l’absence de personnage féminin dans le mode multijoueur de l’épisode Unity. De fait, le joueur ne peut y incarner qu’Arno, le protagoniste du jeu. Il n’y a pas de femme jouable tout simplement parce qu’il n’y a qu’un seul personnage jouable, qui se trouve être un homme. Il aurait suffi à Ubisoft de préciser cela ; au lieu de quoi le studio a évoqué de prétendues difficultés techniques à modéliser et animer un personnage féminin – un argument absurde et infondé, à l’origine de tout ce bad buzz. Il semble que Catherine Coutelle a entendu parler (de très loin) de cette polémique, pour ensuite l’étendre sans plus s’interroger sur le sujet à l’ensemble de la franchise Assassin’s Creed. Or, si la députée s’était davantage renseignée, elle aurait remarqué que le jeu Assassin’s Creed: Liberation (sorti en 2012, soit deux ans avant Unity) met en scène un protagoniste féminin, et que l’épisode Assassin’s Creed: Syndicate (sorti en 2015, un an après Unity) propose deux protagonistes, un homme et une femme. Sans même tenir compte des nombreux personnages secondaires féminins d’importance présents dans la série Assassin’s Creed, nous ne sommes donc pas dans une « négation de l’existence de la femme ». L’argument de Catherine Coutelle est bancal, voire infondé, et révèle une méconaissance totale du sujet.

image-assassins-creed
Evie Frye et Aveline de Grandpré, respectivement héroïnes de Syndicate et Liberation.

Le jeu français, que Catherine Coutelle prend comme exemple d’industrie stigmatisante à l’égard des femmes, comporte pourtant un grand nombre de protagonistes féminins, de femmes non-sexualisées et indépendantes. Je dirais même que le jeu français se distingue en cela des autres pays, avec un réel effort, depuis plusieurs années, pour mettre en avant davantage de femmes. En 2003, Jade est l’héroïne du jeu Beyond Good & Evil : une jeune journaliste qui tente de survivre à la guerre, et de renverser une dictature. Dans Remember Me, Dontnod Entertainment met en scène une femme comme protagoniste, avant de livrer Life is Strange en 2015, un jeu épisodique dont une très grande partie du casting est féminin, à commencer par les deux personnages au centre de l’intrigue, Max et Chloe. Contrairement à beaucoup trop de personnages féminins actuels, Max et Chloe n’ont besoin d’aucune aide masculine pour parvenir à leurs fins. Elles sont indépendantes, intelligentes ; elles incarnent une représentation féminine tout à fait positive et progressiste. Par ailleurs, aucun des personnages susmentionnés n’a « des grosses fesses et de gros seins ».

image-jade-bge
Jade, l’héroïne du jeu Beyond Good & Evil.

Certes, il y a toujours des efforts à faire, et non, tout n’est pas parfait dans la façon dont on représente la femme dans le jeu vidéo français – le studio Quantic Dream, à l’origine des jeux Heavy Rain et Beyond: Two Souls, s’il propose aussi des protagonistes féminins, a la fâcheuse tendance de dénuder voire de placer les femmes dans des scènes d’attouchements et de viol, entretenant ainsi une culture du viol qui n’a clairement pas besoin de ça pour s’ancrer dans les esprits. Non, tout n’est pas parfait, et ce n’est pas ce que je cherche à dire. Mais clairement, la France a une longueur d’avance sur les autres pays en termes de représentations positives de la femme dans le jeu vidéo, et pointer ainsi l’industrie du doigt sans arguments fondés, c’est nier les évolutions que l’on a pu constater ces dernières années, et c’est surtout décourager les développeurs de poursuivre leurs efforts en ce sens.

image-detroit
Dans Detroit: Become Human, le studio français Quantic Dream mettra en scène un nouveau protagoniste féminin : Kara, une androïde plongée dans le monde des humains.

Qu’on fasse attention à la façon dont est représentée la femme dans le jeu vidéo, ou que l’on s’oppose à une abondance déraisonnée de violence dans les productions françaises, cela me semble légitime. Mais menacer d’exclure du CIJV un développeur que l’on aurait estimé trop ceci ou pas assez cela – selon des critères subjectifs et flous – c’est imposer une pression liberticide sur les artistes qui façonnent les jeux vidéo, c’est placer une épée de Damoclès au dessus de leurs têtes. J’ai déjà, sur ce blog, évoqué l’idée qu’un personnage sexy n’est pas forcément un personnage sexiste – c’est le cas de Lara Croft pour les femmes, de Nathan Drake pour les hommes, et de presque tous les personnages de jeux vidéo, de fait. Il peut y avoir mille raisons de sexualiser un personnage de jeu vidéo, masculin comme féminin, tout comme on peut sexualiser des personnages de roman ou encore de cinéma, sans qu’il y ait derrière une volonté sexiste, même inconsciente. Sinon, autant dire que les artistes qui peignent des nus sont tous des obsédés sexuels, ou qu’un film comportant des scènes de nudité est obligatoirement sexiste. Menacer de refuser le CIJV à un développeur qui se risquerait à sexualiser un personnage, c’est l’inciter à ne plus rien sexualiser du tout. Et donc, en définitive, nuire à la liberté de création, à la liberté artistique, et causer du tort au jeu vidéo. En fin de compte, changeons de coupable : le jeu vidéo n’est pas plus sexiste que toutes les autres industries culturelles, et dans tous les cas, empêcher cette industrie de se développer n’est pas la bonne manière d’en finir avec le sexisme.

Revendez votre cadeau de Saint-Valentin et prenez une console

Attribuer au jeu vidéo toutes les tares du monde, franchement, ça devient lourd. Les politiques français ont visiblement quelques années de retard, en sous-estimant une industrie qui contribue pourtant déjà, avec ou sans leur aide, au rayonnement culturel et économique de la France. Et avec leur aide, ça serait encore mieux. Il est temps de changer de discours, de changer de regard, et de prendre conscience de ce que le jeu vidéo fait partie de la culture, et notamment de la culture française. Que ce soit avec Fleur Pellerin ou quelqu’un d’autre, finalement, cela m’importe peu. Ce que je souhaite, c’est voir enfin de nouvelles perspectives pour le jeu vidéo que de se voir attribuer tous les torts, et d’être considéré comme une sorte de sous-culture stupide et navrante.

image-life-is-strange
Life is Strange, jeu français, a été l’un des succès de 2015.

Hommes et femmes politiques de tous bords, et autres mauvais esprits prêtant au jeu vidéo des tares qu’il n’a jamais eues, je n’ai finalement qu’une seule chose à vous suggérer : achetez-vous une console. Ou un PC gamer, si vous le préférez. Jouez. Jouez. Arrêtez donc de donner votre avis sur un support dont vous ignorez tout. Jouez. Et ensuite seulement, nous en reparlerons.

En lire +

Une réflexion sur “Chers politiques, achetez-vous une console

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *