7 Game-Music Covers That Almost Outdo The Originals

Game soundtracks have come a long way ever since the era of 8-bit tracks. Some game musics have become just as iconic as the games they were featured in. So iconic, actually, that some fans perform cover versions of their favourite game songs. Below are 7 game-music covers which I believe are as good as the originals – if not better. 

#7 – Super Mario Theme Cover – 12 different genres! by Friedrich Habetler Music

Listen to the original song: Koji Kondo – Super Mario Bros. Theme

Super Mario‘s soundtrack is probably one of the most famous videogame soundtracks ever. As the title of the video says, this fun cover remixes iconic themes of the game in 12 different genres. My personal favourites are the German Folk version as well as the hilarious Techno remix, which comes with an amazing choreography! 😉

#6 – Deus Ex: Human Revolution – Icarus (Piano Cover) by Simbios

Listen to the original song: Michael McCann – Icarus

I believe it’s impossible to actually outdo Icarus. The main theme for Deus Ex: Human Revolution, which was first heard in the game’s reveal trailer, reaches what I think is the highest possible level of epicness. This piano cover isn’t as epic as the original, but it does manage to convey a much more intimate feeling, while brilliantly recreating the emotional crescendo of McCann’s original work.

#5 – Kingdom Hearts – Dearly Beloved (Guitar Cover) by FamilyJules7X

Listen to the original song: Yoko Shinomura – Dearly Beloved

Dearly Beloved is a piano piece which serves as the overall main theme of the Kingdom Hearts series. It has been remixed several times throughout the saga, but what remained consistent in all official versions of the song was the slowliness and softness of the melody. This guitar cover also starts quite softly, before turning the track into an epic rock song, which contrasts brilliantly with the original melody.

#4 – Tomb Raider – Lara’s Theme (Trio Version) by Songe

Listen to the original song: Nathan McCree – Vertigo

Much like Dearly Beloved in Kingdom Hearts, this song was remixed many times throughout the Tomb Raider series, as it is the main theme of the saga. This cover is most probably based on a Tomb Raider 2 version of the song, composed by Nathan McCree. What is amazing and original with Songe’s cover (in addition to Songe’s playing all three instruments of the song) is the use of an ocarina (yes, it also exists in the real world, not just in Zelda!) – which confers a nostalgic, peaceful feeling to the already awesome original song.

#3 – Assassin’s Creed II – Ezio’s Family by the Multiplayer Ensemble

Listen to the original song: Jesper Kyd – Ezio’s Family

I think most Assassin’s Creed fans will agree on the fact that Ezio’s Family is the most emblematic (and most beautiful) song of the whole series. The Multiplayer Ensemble’s rendition of the song remains really close to Jesper Kyd’s original one. But the orchestra still adds a more personal touch to the song, which makes it even greater, in my opinion.

#2 – Skyrim – The Dragonborn Comes (Female Cover) by Malukah

Listen to the original song: Jeremy Soule – Dragonborn

I’m pretty sure you’ve already heard Malukah’s The Dragonborn Comes, as her Skyrim cover has had a well-deserved success, so much so that Bethesda (the studio behind The Elder Scrolls) has actually asked Malukah to compose a song for the next entry in the franchise, The Elder Scrolls Online. I mean, the song speaks for itself. Malukah’s relaxing voice and subtle guitar convey a fantastic, intimate feeling to the song. Once again, the brilliance of the cover is the fact that it goes totally at the opposite of the song’s original mood.

#1 – Silent Hill 2 – Theme of Laura by the IGC Video Game Orchestra

Listen to the original song: Akira Yamaoka – Theme of Laura

I absolutely adore live orchestra covers of game soundtracks. I absolutely adore Akira Yamaoka’s work on the Silent Hill series. Then, logically, I absolutely adore this version of Theme of LauraSilent Hill 2‘s main theme. What is most surprising in this cover is the addition of a saxophone to the original melody, and the happy mood it manages to inject into a song that was originally pretty sad. The orchestra’s symbiosis and passion while playing this song are obvious, as well as communicative.

Extra – three covers that din’t make it into my Top 7, but that are still worth listening to

  • The orchestral version mentioned above is absolutely amazing, but I also enjoy this a-capella cover of Theme of Laura. At first, it does sound totally goofy… And then you realize how good and original it actually is! 😉
  • Choosing between the aforementioned ocarina cover and this amazing harp rendition of the Tomb Raider theme was really tough. I think I prefer Songe’s ocarina version – but Cameron J. Goss’ harp cover still deserved to be mentioned here. So here it is!
  • Though it comes from an official PlayStation account (which is why it isn’t fanart, per se), I’m still a huge fan of this PlayStation Greatest Soundtracks medley performed by the PlayStation Access team and musician SquidPhysics.

That’s it for my Top 7! Now, what about you? What game-music covers do you like? Please share your favourite game soundtracks and covers in the comments section below!

3 thoughts on “7 Game-Music Covers That Almost Outdo The Originals

  1. I love the Nathan McCree song cover from Tomb Raider II! It’s my favorite piece of music from the entire series. FYI, the name of the song (per McCree himself) is “Vertigo,” not “Cradle To The Grave.” 🙂

    1. Thanks for the real name of the song, I’ll edit my post right away! (I actually had trouble finding the name of the song on the web, as there is no “official” soundtrack for TR2). This song’s also one of my favorite Tomb Raider songs. Plus the scene when it is first heard (in Bartoli’s Hideout, with the chandeliers) is quite memorable thanks to this piece of music 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

7 covers de musiques de jeux qui surpassent presque les originales

Les musiques de jeux vidéo ont bien évolué depuis l’ère des pistes 8-bits. Certaines d’entre elles sont devenues tout aussi iconiques que les jeux dans lesquelles elles sont présentes. Si bien que certains fans interprètent parfois des covers (reprises) de leurs musiques de jeux préférées. Voici 7 covers de musiques de jeux que j’estime autant réussies, sinon meilleures, que les originales.

#7 – Super Mario Theme Cover – 12 different genres! par Friedrich Habetler Music

Ecouter le morceau d’origine : Koji Kondo – Super Mario Bros. Theme

La bande son de Super Mario est sans doute l’une des plus connues de l’histoire du jeu vidéo. Comme le laisse entendre le titre de la vidéo, ce cover remixe les thèmes iconiques du jeu dans 12 genres différents, et de façon très amusante. Je suis particulièrement fan de la version German Folk, mais surtout du remix version Techno, et de la super chorégraphie qui va avec. 😉 Original et créatif !

#6 – Deus Ex: Human Revolution – Icarus (Piano Cover) par Simbios

Ecouter le morceau d’origine : Michael McCann – Icarus

Je ne crois pas qu’il soit véritablement possible de surpasser Icarus. Le thème principal de Deus Ex: Human Revolution, entendu pour la première fois dans la bande-annonce du jeu, est à ce point épique qu’il serait difficile de faire mieux. Cette reprise au piano n’égale effectivement pas la grandeur du morceau original, mais elle parvient tout de même à rendre une ambiance beaucoup plus intimiste, tout en recréant à merveille le crescendo émotionnel présent dans la piste d’origine.

#5 – Kingdom Hearts – Dearly Beloved (Guitar Cover) par FamilyJules7X

Ecouter le morceau d’origine : Yoko Shinomura – Dearly Beloved

Ah, Dearly Beloved. Magistral morceau au piano, composé par Yoko Shinomura, qui fait office de thème principal de la série Kingdom Hearts. S’il a été remixé à plusieurs reprises au fil des épisodes, chaque version du morceau conserve la même douceur, la même poésie. Cette reprise à la guitare démarre elle aussi tout en douceur, avant de se changer en morceau totalement rock, renversant avec brio – et de façon surprenante – l’humeur de la chanson d’origine.

#4 – Tomb Raider – Lara’s Theme (Trio Version) par Songe

Ecouter le morceau d’origine : Nathan McCree – Vertigo

Tout comme Dearly Beloved dans Kingdom Hearts, ce morceau a été remixé maintes fois au fil de la saga Tomb Raider, dont il est le thème principal. Cette reprise s’inspire vraisemblablement d’une version du morceau entendue dans Tomb Raider 2, dont la bande originale a été composée par Nathan McCree. Ce qui fait la qualité et l’originalité de cette reprise (en plus du fait que Songe interprète à lui seul les trois instruments), c’est sans doute l’usage d’un ocarina (eh oui, ça n’existe pas que dans Zelda !) qui confère un sentiment de nostalgie et de douceur à la chanson d’origine, pour un résultat très enivrant.

#3 – Assassin’s Creed II – Ezio’s Family par le Multiplayer Ensemble

Ecouter le morceau d’origine : Jesper Kyd – Ezio’s Family

Je pense que la plupart des fans d’Assassin’s Creed seront d’accord pour dire qu’Ezio’s Family est le morceau le plus emblématique (et le plus magistral) de toute la série. Cette reprise par le Multiplayer Ensemble reste très proche de la version originale, interprétée par Jesper Kyd. Mais l’orchestre ajoute tout de même une touche très personnelle à la chanson, ce qui la rend, selon moi, encore meilleure.

#2 – Skyrim – The Dragonborn Comes (Female Cover) par Malukah

Ecouter le morceau d’origine : Jeremy Soule – Dragonborn

Vous avez vraisemblablement déjà entendu cette chanson de Malukah, car sa reprise du thème de Skyrim (mêlé à l’une des chansons de barde entendues dans le jeu) a rencontré un succès bien mérité. A tel point, de fait, que Bethesda (le studio à l’origine de la série The Elder Scrolls) a même demandé à Malukah de composer une chanson pour l’épisode suivant de la saga, The Elder Scrolls Online. Il faut dire que la chanson parle d’elle-même. La voix apaisante de Malukah et ses subtiles notes de guitare insufflent à la chanson une aura fantastique et intimiste. Là encore, ce qui fait la force de ce cover, c’est qu’il va à l’encontre de l’ambiance de la chanson d’origine.

#1 – Silent Hill 2 – Theme of Laura par le IGC Video Game Orchestra

Ecouter le morceau d’origine : Akira Yamaoka – Theme of Laura

Je suis absolument fan des reprises live de musiques de jeux. Je suis absolument fan de l’oeuvre d’Akira Yamaoka dans la série Silent Hill. En toute logique, je suis donc absolument fan de cette reprise orchestrale de Theme of Laura, le thème principal de Silent Hill 2. L’élément le plus surprenant de cette version est l’ajout d’un saxophone à la mélodie originale, et l’ambiance relativement joyeuse que ce dernier apporte au morceau qui, à l’origine, reposait sur une tonalité mélancolique. Les différents éléments de l’orchestre sont en parfaite harmonie, et interprètent ce morceau avec une passion communicative. Un chef-d’oeuvre admirablement revisité.

Bonus – 3 covers qui ne sont pas dans mon top 7, mais qui valent quand même le détour

  • La version orchestrale dont je parlais ci-dessus est tout bonnement géniale, mais j’aime aussi beaucoup cette reprise a-capella de Theme of Laura. Déconcertante, elle parait totalement déjantée à la première écoute, mais au fil de la chanson, on se laisse emporter par l’originalité de cette reprise ! 😉
  • Le choix a été difficile entre la reprise à l’ocarina mentionnée ci-dessus et cette reprise à la harpe du thème de Tomb RaiderMême si je préfère sans doute la version à l’ocarina interprétée par Songe, ce cover à la harpe par Cameron J. Goss méritait tout de même sa place ici.
  • Même s’il ne s’agit pas de fanart à proprement parler, puisqu’il a été publié par un compte officiel de PlayStation, ce medley des meilleures musiques issues de jeux PlayStation, interprété par PlayStation Access et le musicien SquidPhysics à l’occasion du 20e anniversaire de la marque, me plait tout particulièrement, pour les souvenirs qu’il rappelle, notamment.

Voilà pour mon top 7 ! Et vous, alors ? Quelles reprises de musiques de jeux aimez-vous ? N’hésitez pas à partager vos musiques et vos covers de jeux préférés dans les commentaires de cet article !

3 réflexions sur “7 covers de musiques de jeux qui surpassent presque les originales

  1. I love the Nathan McCree song cover from Tomb Raider II! It’s my favorite piece of music from the entire series. FYI, the name of the song (per McCree himself) is « Vertigo, » not « Cradle To The Grave. » 🙂

    1. Thanks for the real name of the song, I’ll edit my post right away! (I actually had trouble finding the name of the song on the web, as there is no « official » soundtrack for TR2). This song’s also one of my favorite Tomb Raider songs. Plus the scene when it is first heard (in Bartoli’s Hideout, with the chandeliers) is quite memorable thanks to this piece of music 🙂

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *