banner-trine-2

What I’m Playing – June 2015

June was a very productive month for me in terms of playing video games: The Witcher 3Trine Kingdom Hearts. Here are three reasons why I think it’s worth playing each of these games.

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt 

Until recently, I wasn’t a huge fan of western RPGs, but playing Dragon Age: Inquisition proved me that with the appropriate scenario and universe, games of this genre could be absolutely epic, wonderful and addictive. Likewise, The Witcher 3 is a game which anyone can appreciate, regardless of his/her liking of the RPG genre.

image-thewitcher3

  • Reason #1 – One of the greatest open-worlds out there: The Witcher 3‘s greatest quality is its wonderful open-world, frought with amazing details, places to explore and quests to complete. As soon as you start playing the game, its universe grabs you unavoidably. The diverse landscapes, the dynamic lighting, the sparkling colors that evolve with the day/night cycle, the characters that are just going on with their daily routine – all of this contributes to creating a believable universe, which you can’t help exploring, without any true purpose, just for the sake of exploring. Those who like adventure (just as I do) will necessarily fall in love with this game.
  • Reason #2 – A wonderfully written story: The Witcher actually is an adaptation of the eponymous book series. The author, Andrzej Sapkowski, participated in the writing of the game’s scenario, even though he does not consider it as part of the series’ canon. The plot is rich, the characters are complex and the universe is far from manichean. The hero, Geralt of Rivia, is one of the most charismatic characters I’ve ever seen in a videogame. The story also revolves a lot around interactivity and player’s choice – the player is confronted with a lot of choices which seem insignificant at first sight, but which actually shape Geralt’s own identity. What kind of character will he become? What are his motivations? What morals will he follow? That’s really up to the player, and its solid storytelling is definitely one of the game’s greatest strengths.
  • Reason #3 – The developing team’s player-centered philosophy: You should never judge a book by its cover. Nor by its author. Yet I think we can make an exception for The Witcher 3. CD Projekt is a wonderful team, that seems to work its heart out to provide the player with the best possible experience. CD Projekt knows that the player is a player first, not a consumer. If you’re not convinced, then read the message that comes with the game’s physical edition:

Dear Gamer, First of all, we would like to thank you for your support. We really appreciate that you have decided to spend your hard-earned money on our game and hope that you will have a fun time playing it. Over 200 of us have spent the last three years working on The Witcher 3: Wild hunt and it is with great pleasure and humility that we present our game to you. At CD Projekt Red, we believe that when you buy our games, you’re entitled to continuous, free support – updates, patches and bits of new and amazing content. We owe you that for believe in us and purchasing our game. To thank you, we have prepared something really special – 16 DLCs for you to download, totally free of charge, regardless of the platform or edition of the game you own. We salute you for your support and wish you a fantastic next-generation of RPG gaming! CD Projekt Red

Trine (episodes 1 & 2)

I got Trine: Enchanted Edition and Trine 2: Complete Story on sale on the PlayStation Store, and I really did not know what to expect. The first two episodes of the franchise were released in 2009 and 2011, respectively, but I had never played them until now. It’s kind of a shame, to say the least, as Trine revealed itself to be an absolute fairytale.

image-trine2

  • Reason #1 – You can use your head!: Trine is no brain-teaser, but it is a bit of a head-scratcher. Don’t get me wrong, it is a platformer, not a puzzle-game, yet it still has pretty great riddles to offer. You can play it solo or in 3-player co-op mode – Trine has three playable characters: a wizard, a thief and a knight. Each of them has particular abilities, which you must use wisely in order to make your way through the levels. As a consequence, each level can be quite tricky, especially in co-op mode, as you need to figure out which character has the ability to let the others progress. Quite often, there is more than one solution. Trine 2 also features more complex puzzles, involving mirrors or liquids to carry from one place to another.
  • Reason #2 – Fun: Puzzles in this game are tricky, but never frustrating. It’s even the opposite of frustrating, as solving the puzzles is actually quite rewarding. Trine is above all a game that you can play for fun – especially in co-op mode. “Co-op mode” necessarily means “playing dirty tricks to your friends” – it is always funny (and relieving) to kill your companions. 😉
  • Reason #3 – A fairytale turned into a videogame: But Trine isn’t just fun. It’s also a true work of art. Every level in Trine is filled with poetry, magic and beauty. I think the screenshots speak for themselves, here.

Kingdom Hearts HD ReMix

With E3 providing us more news about Kingdom Hearts III, I could not help re-playing this series which I have loved for nearly a decade (the original Kingdom Hearts was released in 2002). This franchise is an audacious cross-over between Disney movies and Square Enix games. To prepare the release of the long-awaited third episode, Square Enix has published two HD compilations on PS3 (Kingdom Hearts 1.5 HD ReMix Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD ReMix), featuring all episodes of the franchise to date.

image-kh

  • Reason #1 – A poetic scenario: A game based on the Disney universe will obviously feature themes such as love and friendship. Kingdom Hearts deals with those themes with a lot of maturity. The scenario is complex, non-linear, with love being the central subject of the series. All characters in the games come in groups of three (Sora, Riku, Kairi/Sora, Goofy, Donald/Roxas, Xion, Axel, etc.) that echo one another. As the story unfolds, heroes and characters become aware of the links that bind them all, valuing friendship over the desire for more power. The game never tries to make it too emotional, however, as there’s always the right amount of emotion, with a really poetic atmosphere surrounding the series.
  • Reason #2 – A wonderful soundtrack: Yoko Shimomura’s original soundtrack really contributes to the poetic aspect of the game. In the HD compilation, Square Enix had the brilliant idea to remaster both soundtracks of Kingdom Hearts 1 & – which makes it even more of a masterpiece. The main theme for the series is probably one of the greatest tracks out there. Its original tempo was meant to be reminiscent of a heartbeat’s. How poetic is that?
  • Reason #3 – Disney+Square Enix, what’s not to like?: Hello? You get to meet Mickey, Simba, Maleficent, Hades, Jack Sparrow and Ariel, but also Cloud, Tifa, Yuffie, Leon and Sephiroth. How could you possibly resist that?
Read more:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

banner-trine-2

Dans ma console – Juin 2015

En termes de jeux vidéo, on peut dire que mon mois de juin s’est avéré productif : The Witcher 3, Trine et Kingdom Hearts. Je vous présente trois raisons pour lesquelles j’ai apprécié ces jeux.

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt 

Jusqu’à récemment, je n’étais pas spécialement fan des RPG occidentaux, mais Dragon Age: Inquisition a su me prouver qu’avec l’univers et le scénario adéquats, ils pouvaient s’avérer des jeux vidéo tout simplement épiques, magistraux et addictifsThe Witcher 3 est de la même trempe : une oeuvre que tout le monde peut apprécier, même les plus réticents au genre.

image-thewitcher3

  • Raison n°1 – Un open-world dépaysant : Ce qui fait la force de The Witcher 3, c’est évidemment son monde ouvert, fourmillant de vie, de détails, de lieux à explorer et de quêtes à remplir. Dès lors que l’on commence à y jouer, on ne peut que se laisser happer par l’univers de The WitcherLa direction artistique est parfaitement maîtrisée : les décors variés, les lumières dynamiques, les couleurs chatoyantes qui évoluent au rythme de la journée, les personnages qui vivent leur routine quotidienne – tout est dépaysement dans Wild Hunt, et l’on se surprend à explorer ce monde sans but précis, pour le seul plaisir de l’exploration. Les fans d’aventure (comme moi) ne pourront qu’adorer.
  • Raison n°2 – Un scénario riche, complexe et détaillé : Fait assez rare pour être souligné, The Witcher est l’adaptation directe d’une série de romans, parus en français sous le nom de Sorceleur. L’auteur des livres, Andrzej Sapkowski, a participé à l’élaboration du scénario des jeux, bien qu’il ne les reconnaisse pas pour autant comme canoniques. Ceci n’enlève toutefois rien à la richesse du scénario, à ses personnages complexes et à l’univers tout sauf manichéen qu’il dépeint. A commencer par le héros, Geralt de Riv, l’un des personnages les plus charismatiques qu’il m’ait été donné de voir dans un jeu vidéo. A la différence d’un livre, le jeu vidéo a cette particularité qu’il y a identité entre le protagoniste et le joueur. The Witcher 3 l’a bien compris en confrontant maintes fois le joueur à des choix en apparence anodins, mais qui façonnent en réalité le personnage de Geralt : à quelle morale obéit-il ? Quelles sont ses motivations ? C’est bien au joueur d’en décider, et la puissance de narration de ce jeu est l’un de ses plus forts atouts.
  • Raison n°3 – Des développeurs qui font passer le joueur avant tout : Certes, il ne faut pas résumer une oeuvre à son auteur. Il n’en reste pas moins vrai que CD Projekt est une équipe de passionnés, qui semble avoir à coeur de délivrer la meilleure expérience de jeu possible, sans jamais oublier de prendre en considération le joueur pour ce qu’il est – un joueur, pas un simple consommateur. Afin d’illustrer mes propos, voici tout simplement le message qui est fourni avec la boîte du jeu :

Cher Joueur,

Tout d’abord, nous voudrions vous remercier pour votre soutien. Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez choisi de dépenser votre argent durement gagné pour notre jeu et nous espérons que vous allez bien vous amuser avec. Plus de 200 d’entre nous ont passé ces trois dernières années à travailler sur The Witcher 3 : Wild Hunt et c’est avec un immense plaisir et beaucoup d’humilité que nous vous présentons notre jeu.

A CD Projekt Red, nous pensons que quand vous achetez nos jeux, vous avez le droit à un soutien continu et gratuit – mises à jour, patches et du contenu exclusif. C’est ce que nous vous devons pour avoir acheté notre jeu. Pour vous remercier, nous avons préparé quelque chose de vraiment spécial – 16 DLC à télécharger rien que pour vous, sans aucun frais supplémentaires, peu importe la plateforme ou l’édition que vous possédez.

Nous saluons votre soutien et nous vous souhaitons une fantastique expérience de RPG next-gen !

CD Projekt Red

Trine (épisodes 1 & 2)

C’est grâce à une promotion sur le PlayStation Store que je me suis lancé, un peu à l’aveugle, dans Trine: Enchanted Edition Trine 2: Complete Story sur PS4. Les deux premiers épisodes de la série sont sortis respectivement en 2009 et 2011 sur de nombreux supports, mais j’étais jusque-là passé à côté. Et c’est bien dommage, car il s’avère que Trine nous plonge dans un véritable conte de fées vidéoludique.

image-trine2

  • Raison n°1 – On se sert de sa tête : Sans être un affreux casse-tête, les jeux Trine ont de quoi laisser le(s) joueur(s) se creuser la tête pendant quelques temps. Entendons-nous bien : il ne s’agit pas d’un jeu d’énigmes, mais bien d’un jeu de plateformes avec quelques puzzles bien pensés. Jouable en solo ou en coopération jusqu’à 3 joueurs, Trine propose trois personnages jouables : un mage, une voleuse et un chevalier. Chacun dispose de ses capacités propres, qu’il s’agit d’utiliser à bon escient afin de progresser dans les niveaux. De fait, et principalement lorsqu’on joue en coopération, chaque nouveau « tableau » peut s’avérer ardu, car il s’agit d’identifier quel personnage peut permettre aux autres de progresser. Bien souvent, il y a plusieurs solutions possibles, ce qui permet à chaque joueur de contribuer. Trine 2 ajoute à cette mécanique l’apparition de puzzles plus complexes, impliquant des miroirs téléporteurs ou bien des liquides à transporter d’un point à l’autre.
  • Raison n°2 – Un jeu qui n’oublie pas d’en être un : Même si elles laissent la place à la réflexion, les énigmes ne sont jamais frustrantes, et au contraire, il est toujours gratifiant d’arriver à progresser. Mais surtout, Trine est un jeu drôle, en particulier lorsqu’on y joue à plusieurs. Qui dit coopération dit forcément coups fourrés entre amis, et il est toujours drôle de précipiter son/ses compagnons vers une mort certaine. 😉
  • Raison n°3 – Une direction artistique féerique : Chaque décor dans Trine est emprunt d’une poésie et d’une beauté absolument remarquables. C’est un véritable conte de fée qui prend vie sous nos yeux, le moindre décor étant une vraie oeuvre d’art. Sur ce point, je crois que les images valent mieux qu’un long discours.

Kingdom Hearts HD ReMix

Lors de l’E3, Kingdom Hearts III a redonné de ses nouvelles, ce qui m’a donné envie de me replonger dans cette série que j’adore depuis plus de 10 ans. C’est en effet en 2002 que sort le premier épisode de Kingdom Hearts, un audacieux cross-over entre l’univers Disney et l’univers Square Enix (Final Fantasy, entre autres). En vue de la sortie du tant attendu troisième épisode, Square Enix a publié deux compilations HD de (presque) tous les épisodes parus à ce jour : Kingdom Hearts 1.5 HD ReMix et 2.5 HD ReMix, tous deux parus sur PS3.

image-kh

  • Raison n°1 – De la poésie dans le scénario : Un jeu inspiré par l’univers Disney s’aventure forcément dans des thèmes tels que l’amitié et l’amour, et Kingdom Hearts traite ces thèmes avec une grande maturité. Le scénario est complexe du fait de sa linéarité toute relative d’un épisode à l’autre, et a bel et bien l’amour pour sujet central. Les personnages forment pour la plupart des trios (Sora, Riku, Kairi ; Sora, Dingo, Donald ; Roxas, Xion, Axel, etc.) qui se font écho les uns aux autres. Au fil de leurs rencontres, les héros et les personnages prennent conscience des liens qui les unissent, privilégiant l’amitié au désir de pouvoir. Le ton est toujours juste, et l’émotion parfaitement dosée sans trop en faire.
  • Raison n°2 – Une bande-son magistrale : La bande originale, composée par Yoko Shimomura, joue pour beaucoup dans la dimension poétique du jeu. La compilation HD a eu la judicieuse idée de remasteriser les musiques des épisodes parus à l’origine sur PS2, ce qui les rend d’autant plus sublimes. Le thème principal de la série, maintes fois remanié, est un vrai classique. Son tempo original était censé imiter le rythme d’un battement de coeur. On ne peut plus poétique.
  • Raison n°3 – Disney + Square Enix, que vous faut-il de plus ? : Franchement. C’est une série dans laquelle on rencontre aussi bien Mickey, Simba, Maléfique, Hadès, Jack Sparrow et Ariel que Cloud, Tifa, Youfie, Léon ou Sephiroth. Comment résister ? 😉
En lire +

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *